Team Master Blasters comprising Abel Sajan, Albin Sajan and Johan Jobsy of India took home the 2nd Filipino Chess Players League (FCPL) Qatar Rapid Chess Tournament championship trophy and a cash prize.
The seven-round 15-minute chess tournament saw participation by 10 teams of 60 individuals from among the Indian and Philippine communities in Qatar. The first runner-up was Team Mr Pogi (Philippines) headed by Alvin Ping, Abet Agrimano, and Willie Narag while the second runner-up was Team Botak (Philippines) led by Jasper Javier, Edgar Villareal, and Paul Ian Panuncialmaan.
Board 1, 2, and 3 winners were also awarded with medals: Board 1 - Abel Sajan (India), Board 2 - Rolly Patricio, Board 3 - Kim Demirkol (Turkey), and Paul Ian Panuncialman (Philippines) with a perfect score 7/7. FCPL Qatar arbiter Rolen Loyola and president Elmer Espiritu thanked everyone. The tournament was sponsored by Artists Makeup Studio and held at Uno Cafe- Doha Souq Mall - Al Nasr.
Related Story