India’s Rohit Sharma will return as captain for the limited-overs series against the West Indies at home next month while seamers Mohamed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested, the country’s cricket board (BCCI) said yesterday.
Rohit missed the one-day international series in South Africa due to a hamstring injury in what would have been his first assignment since taking over from Virat Kohli in the 50-over format.
There was no place for all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja as he continues his recovery from a knee injury, while spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was left out of both squads.
Wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, however, made a comeback to the ODI squad.
Young leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi was rewarded with a maiden India call-up for the upcoming series. Bishnoi has been one of the finds of the Indian Premier League for the Punjab outfit and has been picked up by new franchise Lucknow Supergiants from the drafts for the next IPL.
It is understood that Hardik Pandya, who last played for India during the T20 World Cup, is not yet fit enough to play a full role as seam-bowling allrounder.
He has said as much to the selectors and is hoping to use the upcoming IPL to see whether his body can handle those workloads again. Hardik was appointed captain of the Ahmedabad IPL franchise which bought him for INR 15 crore (USD 2.02 million approx.)
India play the West Indies in a three-match ODI series followed by a three-match Twenty20 series. The tour kicks off in Ahmedabad on February 6.

ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), K L Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohamed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

T20 squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), K L Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohamed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.