Lewandowski, Putellas take top FIFA ‘Best’ awards
January 17 2022 11:54 PM
Bayern Munich’s striker Robert Lewandowski celebrates with the FIFA’s top men’s player trophy in Zur
Bayern Munich’s striker Robert Lewandowski celebrates with the FIFA’s top men’s player trophy in Zurich yesterday. (@lewy_official)

AFP/ Paris

Bayern Munich’s record-setting striker Robert Lewandowski retained FIFA’s top men’s player title yesterday at “The Best” of 2021 ceremony as Barcelona captain Alexia Putellas collected the award for best women’s player.
The 33-year-old Lewandowski, who set a Bundesliga goal record last season, won the trophy for the second time, edging Argentine Lionel Messi of Paris Saint-Germain and Egyptian Mohamed Salah of Liverpool. It was some consolation for the Polish striker who lost out to Messi for the Ballon d’Or in November. For Putellas, it marked an awards double as the Spaniard triumphed over Barcelona teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Chelsea’s Australian striker Sam Kerr, just as she did for the Ballon d’Or. The 27-year-old midfielder enjoyed an exceptional 2020-2021 season with Barcelona when she led the Catalans to the Spanish league and cup double as well as the Champions League. Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy and Christiane Endler of Lyon won the goalkeeping awards.
Chelsea picked up both coaching awards through Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes. Erik Lamela, now of Sevilla, won the best goal award for his trick rabona shot for Spurs in the North London derby. The medical staff and players of Denmark, who had to deal with Christian Eriksen’s collapse on the field at the Euro won the “fair-play” award.

the winners
The Best FIFA Men’s Player:
Robert Lewandowski
The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Alexia Putellas
FIFA Fan Award: Denmark and Finland Fans
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:  Thomas Tuchel
The FIFA Best Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes
FIFA Fair Play Award: Denmark National Team and Staff
Puskas Award: Erik Lamela
The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: 
Edouard Mendy
The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler
FIFA Best Special Award: Christine Sinclair
FIFA Best Special Award: Cristiano Ronaldo

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*