Legislative history made as Qataris elect 30 members of Shura Council
October 03 2021 02:00 AM
HE the Minister of Transport and Communications Jassim Saif Ahmed al-Sulaiti casts his vote
HE the Minister of Transport and Communications Jassim Saif Ahmed al-Sulaiti casts his vote PICTURES: Shaji Kayamkulam

The head of the Supervisory Committee of the Shura Council elections Majed Ibrahim al-Khulaifi announced yesterday the winners of the first Shura Council elections held in Qatar.
Al-Khulaifi said the elections will strengthen the rule of law and institutions of the country adding that it was held in realisation of the vision of His Highness the Amir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani as announced in his speech at the opening of the 49th session of the Shura Council last year, under the direct supervision of HE the Prime Minister and Minister of Interior.

The voting process saw a large participation from women.
He said the election registered a voter turnout of 63.5% while the voting process began at 8am and continued until 6pm at 30 polling stations across the country.
“The citizens were keen to show the spirit of responsible citizenship and the national duty of effective participation in this historic event. It as well denotes their commitment to the established values and inherited traditions of Qatari society,” he said. He added that the Ministry of Interior commends the high patriotic spirit that prevailed on the polling day and the efforts made by all entities and cadres for their effective contribution in organizing this national prerogative under constitutional and legal guarantees within a neutral and responsible environment.

A woman voter casts her vote

An elderly voter is helped at the polling station

Elections were conducted by strictly following the Covid precautionary measures

Hassan Abdullah Ghanem al-Ghanem al-Maadeed was elected from Constituency No. 5 elected unopposed. No woman candidate was elected though 26 women candidates contested from 14 constituencies.

The final result approved by the elections committees are as follows:

Constituency 1-Abdul Rahman Yusef Abdul Rahman al-Khelaifi
Constituency 2- Ahmed Hetmi Ahmed al-Hetmi
Constituency 3- Abdullah Ali Jumua al-Sulaiti
Constituency 4- Eisa Ahmed Eisa Nasr al-Nasr
Constituency 5- Hassan Abdullah Ghanem al-Ghanem al-Maadheed
Constituency 6-Khalid Ghanem Nasser al-Ali al-Maadheed
Constituency 7-Khalid Ahmed Nasser Ahmed al-Obaidan
Constituency 8-Nasser bin Salmeen Khaled al-Suwaidi
Constituency 9-Hamad Abdullah Abdul Rahman Ali al-Mulla
Constituency 10- Khalid Abbas Ali Kamal al-Emadi
Constituency 11- Nasser Muhsin Mohamed Bu Kasheesha
Constituency 12- Eisa bin Arar Eisa Ali al-Rumaihi
Constituency 13- Mohamed Yousef Abdul Rahman al-Mana
Constituency 14-Mohamed Muftah Abdul Rahman al-Muftah
Constituency 15-Yousuf Ali Yousuf al-Khatir
Constituency 16- Ali Muhsin Abdullah Rashid Futais
Constituency 17-Mohamed Buti Salem Kahlifa al-Abdullah
Constituency 18-Ali Shabeeb Nasser al-Atiyyah
Constituency 19-Nasser Matraf Eisa al-Matraf al-Humaidi
Constituency 20-Ahmed Hamad Ahmed al-Hassan al-Muhannadi
Constituency 21-Mohamed bin Eid Saad al-Hassan al-Kuwari
Constituency 22-Mubarak Mohamed Matar al-Matar al-Kuwari
Constituency 23-Yousuf Ahmed Ali al-Sada
Constituency 24- Mohamed Omer Ahmed Salem al-Mannai
Constituency 25- Nasser Hassan Dandoun al-Nufaihi al-Kubaisi
Constituency 26-Nasser Mohamed al-Jffali al-Nuaimi
Constituency 27-Sultan Hassan Mubarak al-Dabit al-Dousari
Constituency 28-Mubarak Saif Hamdan Mesaf al-Mansouri
Constituency 29-Ali Saeed Rashid al-Kumait al-Khayareen
Constituency 30-Salem Rashid Salem Rashed al-Muraikhi
It was the country’s first legislative polls to elect two-thirds of the 45-member Shura Council.
His Highness the Amir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad al- Thani will appoint the remaining 15 members of the council.
Counting of votes began after polling stations closed their doors at 6pm. There were a total of 233 candidates, including 26 women, contesting for the 30 seats, according to the official Qatar News Agency.
Polling stations opened their doors to voters at 8 am, allowing citizens to cast their votes by direct secret ballot system. The polling was conducted in strict adherence of
of the Covid-19 precautionary measures followed in the country.

Last updated: October 03 2021 10:56 AM

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*