Bangladesh recall wicketkeeper Nurul for Zimbabwe series
June 23 2021 11:50 PM
A file photo of wicketkeeper-batsman of Bangladesh, Nurul Hasan. (AFP)
A file photo of wicketkeeper-batsman of Bangladesh, Nurul Hasan. (AFP)

AFP/ Dhaka

Bangladesh yesterday recalled wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan for their squad for all three formats in an upcoming tour of Zimbabwe.
Nurul, who last played for Bangladesh in 2018, joins the squad as a back-up for injured wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, said chief selector Minhajul Abedin.
Mushfiqur will rest for the Twenty20 series but has been included in the Test squad and for a one-day international.
“We expect him to come back before the series starts. But we felt a back-up was needed,” Abedin said.
“Sohan (Nurul) has been doing good in recent matches. So, he was included in the squad.”
Bangladesh will leave home on June 29 for their first series in Zimbabwe in more than eight years. The series, which starts on July 7, features one Test, three ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals.
Matches will be held behind closed doors at Harare Sport Club, the Zimbabwe Cricket announced on Tuesday.
Promising Under-19 World Cup winner Shamim Hossain was handed his maiden call-up in the T20 squad while leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob was also recalled for the T20s.
All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will return to the Test squad after he opted out of a two-match Test series against Sri Lanka in April. Mushfiq asked the Bangladesh Cricket Board to grant him leave for the T20Is against Zimbabwe – a request that has been approved.
The tour starts with a test from July 7-11, followed by the ODIs which are part of the Super League that serves as qualification for the next World Cup in India in 2023. The T20s games are set for July 23-27.

Test: Mominul Haque (Capt), Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

ODI: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Mohamed Saifuddin, Mohamed Mithun, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

T20I: Mahmudullah Riyad (Capt),Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain, Mohamed Saifuddin, Aminul Islam Biplob, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*