Provide accurate data while registering for repatriation: Indian embassy
May 12 2020 09:36 PM
Indian Embassy, Doha
Indian Embassy, Doha

* Repatriation Co-ordination Committees set up to ensure greater community participation in selection of deserving passengers in coming days

Indians registering for repatriation should provide accurate data and ensure that they receive a confirmation by email, the Indian embassy in Doha has advised.

Through a series of tweets on Tuesday, the embassy explained different aspects of the registration process, including the committees set up to select deserving passengers.

"A large number of the earlier registrations for repatriation did not contain QID/visa numbers, causing difficulties with clearing such passengers for boarding by the authorities concerned. Please register your data accurately and ensure that you receive a confirmation by email," the embassy said

"On successful registration, you will receive an email. All requests received will be studied and prioritised, using the justification provided. Given the large number of requests, it is possible that your name may not be covered for the next flight. We request your understanding," it stressed.

The number of flights to various locations in India depends on the number of registrations from people of that state and the capacity of the state government to medically examine the passengers and quarantine them, the embassy explained. "We will continue to work for as many flights to Doha as possible."

The embassy said it has set up eight Repatriation Co-ordination Committees in order to ensure greater community participation in the selection of deserving passengers for the repatriation flights in the coming days. These committees have been allocated states based on the number of registrations received.

Data collected through the embassy's registration site will be shared with these committees for the states concerned. They will then study the requests and make recommendations to the embassy for candidates to be accorded priority for each flight.

Persons in distress can get in touch with the relevant committee by email, after registering on the embassy portal and getting a confirmation. The embassy will rely on the advice of these committees to decide on the final priority list of passengers for each flight.

"Please approach these committees for assistance only after registering on the embassy portal. They will not be able to help you in the absence of full information. Further, if you have issues with your exit permit, you won't be able to leave Qatar on any of these flights," the embassy said.

The embassy also noted that "over two-thirds of the total repatriation registrations from Qatar are just for Kerala". "It is, therefore, natural that there will be more flights for Kerala than for other states. We are pushing for more flights to other states in the coming week(s). Please stay tuned for updates," it added.

The details of the committees are as follows:

* Committee 1, for Kerala/Mahe: Email - [email protected]; members - K M Varghese, Abdul Aziz, Govind, Basheer Thuvarikkal and Koya Kondoti

* Committee 2, for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry: Email - [email protected]; members - Manikantan A P, Sriraja Vijayan, Rama Selvam, Martin Joseph Pravin and Mohamed Musthafa

* Committee 3, for Karnataka: Email - [email protected]; members - Nagesh Rao, Deepak Shetty, Shashidhar Hebbal, Khaleel Ahmed and Sandeep D S

* Committee 4, for Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Goa: Email - [email protected]; members - Vinod V Nair, Sachin Kinhikare, Devang Patel, Nayana Wagh and Gargi Vaidya

* Committee 5, for Telangana and Andhra Pradesh: Email - [email protected]; members - Azim Abbas, Bhumeshwar Padala, Vusirikala Tataji, Venkappa and M V V Satyanarayan

* Committee 6, for West Bengal, Odisha, Jharkhand and the Northeastern states: Email - [email protected]; members - Anjan Ganguli, Palash Kumar Das, Manojit Mishra, Bidya Bhusan Mohanty and Afroz Ahmad Dawar

* Committee 7, for Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh: Email - [email protected]; members - H P S Bhullar, Kawalnain Arora, Kunal Dabi, Girish Jain and Dr Sonal Sharma

* Committee 8, for Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Uttarakhand: Email - [email protected]; members - Irfan Ansari, Jawaid Ahmed, Sudhir Gupta, Rajneesh Shastri and Zia Ul Haq

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*