Turkey will impose a four-day curfew in 31 provinces beginning Thursday, as part of the country's measures to curb the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).

The curfew notice, sent in a circular by the Turkish Interior Ministry to the governors of the provinces, was ordered in the capital Ankara and other provinces including Istanbul, Adana, Antalya, Aydin, Balikesir, Bursa, Diyarbakir, Izmir and Trabzon, Turkey's Anadolu Agency reported.

According to the circular, bakeries, hospitals, pharmacies and workplaces producing health products and medical supplies will continue to operate.

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said Monday that Turkey plans to extend the weekend curfew this week in 31 provinces as part of measures against the coronavirus.

For the first time, Turkey imposed a 48-hour curfew in 31 provinces across the country on April 11-12 as part of measures to curb the spread of the virus.

On Monday, Turkey confirmed 123 more fatalities from the coronavirus, bringing the death toll to 2,140.

The novel coronavirus has spread to 185 countries and regions since emerging in Wuhan, China last December, with the US and Europe now the hardest-hit areas. (QNA)