UP chief minister revamps cabinet with eye on polls
August 22 2019 01:15 AM
Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel congratulates one of the newly-sworn in ministers in Lucknow
Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel congratulates one of the newly-sworn in ministers in Lucknow yesterday.

IANS /Lucknow

In what can be termed as a near-total revamp of the Yogi Adityanath-led government in Uttar Pradesh, 23 new ministers were sworn in yesterday at the Raj Bhawan by Governor Anandiben Patel.
The newly-inducted ministers include six cabinet ministers, six ministers of state with independent charge and 11 ministers of state.
The cabinet reshuffle has been done with an eye on the upcoming assembly by-elections and the 2022 assembly elections.
The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has made a conscious effort to consolidate its base among the Dalits and the OBCs. Among those who have been sworn in as ministers are six Brahmins, two Kshatriyas, two Jats, one Gujjar, three Dalits, two Kurmis, one Rajbhar, one from Pal community, three from Vaishya community, one Shakya and one Mallah.
The party has focused on small caste groups like Rajbhar, Shakya and Mallah - all non-Yadavs. An effort has been made to give representation to communities that till now did not find a foothold in the state government.
The Yogi government, in this expansion, has also given due representation to western Uttar Pradesh. Five legislators from western UP have been made ministers while one from Mainpuri, which is Samajwadi Party’s bastion, has also been included in the council of ministers.
This is an obvious attempt to marginalise the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which had made maximum gains from western UP in the recent Lok Sabha elections.
The Yogi government has also included legislators from eastern and central UP in the ministry, making it a very balanced representation of the state.
Meanwhile, four ministers of state, who held independent charge, have also been promoted as cabinet ministers.
The cabinet ministers who have been sworn in are Mahendra Singh, Bhupendra Chaudhary, Anil Rajbhar, Suresh Rana, Kamal Rani and Ram Naresh Agnihotri. Except for Kamal Rani and Ram Naresh Agnihotri, the remaining four have been elevated from the ministers of state position.
Those sworn in as ministers of state with independent charge include Kapil Dev, Ashok Katehria, Neelkanth Tiwari, Ravindra Jaiswal, Shri Ram Chauhan and Satish Dwiwedi.
The 11 ministers of state are Anil Sharma, Mahesh Gupta, Anand Swarup Shukla, Vijay Kashyap, Giriraj Singh Dharmesh, Lakhan Singh Rajput, Nilima Katiyar, Chaudhary Udaybhan Singh, Chandrika Prasad Upadhyaya, Rama Shankar Singh Patel and Ajit Singh Pal.
The most significant aspect of the reshuffle is that a majority of the newly-inducted ministers are first-timers with almost no administrative experience. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will face an uphill task in making these ministers perform.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*