Johnson tops first ballot in Tory leadership contest
June 14 2019 01:16 AM
Conservative MP’s Cheryl Gillan (centre), Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (left), Charles Walker (second left) and Bob Blackman (right) read out the results of the first ballot in the Tory leadership ballot at the Houses of Parliament in London yesterday.


Brexit hardliner Boris Johnson yesterday topped the ballot by a landslide in a first-round vote for a leader to replace Prime Minister Theresa May as the deadline for leaving the EU looms.
In the ballot of Conservative MPs, former London mayor Johnson secured more than twice the number of votes won by his nearest challengers as three of the 10 candidates were eliminated from the race.
The outcome of the leadership battle could determine under what conditions Britain leaves the European Union.
It is currently scheduled to leave on October 31.
Johnson has said he is open to leaving the EU on October 31 without a formal deal between London and Brussels but would prefer to secure one by the deadline.
Opponents of “no-deal” say it would cause economic chaos as Britain breaks up with its top trading partners.
Yesterday’s vote was Conservative MPs’ first secret ballot in the governing party’s leadership contest.
Johnson secured 114 votes, way ahead of Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt on 43 and Environment Secretary Michael Gove with 37.
Former Brexit secretary Dominic Raab (27), Interior Minister Sajid Javid (23), Health Secretary Matt Hancock (20) and International Development Secretary Rory Stewart (19) also survived the cut.
Like Johnson, Raab and Javid have said they would not rule out a “no-deal” Brexit.
The seven candidates go through to Tuesday’s second round, when contenders will need the votes of 33 of the 313 Conservative MPs to stay in the contest.
Former House of Commons leader Andrea Leadsom (11), ex-immigration minister Mark Harper (10) and former pensions secretary Esther McVey (nine) failed to reach the 17 votes required to get through to round two.
May remains prime minister until a successor is chosen as head of the Conservatives.
She stepped down as the centre-right party’s leader last week, having failed to deliver her plan for taking Britain out of the European Union after nearly three years in the post.
The list of candidates reflects the divergence of views within the ruling party on Brexit.
Hunt and Gove are against leaving on no-deal terms in October.
Hancock and Stewart are against leaving on no-deal terms in any eventuality.
May refused to say who she had backed in yesterday’s vote, telling reporters: “That’s none of your business!”
Finance Minister Philip Hammond also kept mum on his vote.
The contest so far has been dominated by revelations of Gove’s past drug-taking and bickering over the best way to resolve the Brexit impasse. But yesterday’s voting revealed each candidate’s current level of support.
The two candidates most keen on taking Britain out of the EU without a deal were eliminated. McVey was pursuing a no-deal Brexit, arguing that the agreement May struck with Brussels keeps Britain too closely tied to the EU. Leadsom — runner-up to May in the 2016 leadership contest following the Brexit referendum — wanted a managed no-deal departure.

Last updated: June 14 2019 01:41 AM

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*