Qatar, who are taking part in this year's Copa America tournament, will feature in the event next year too, it was confirmed on Thursday.

Asian champions Qatar and runners-up Japan have been invited to this year's event beginning today, where Qatar will take on Paraguay on Sunday.

"We have decided to invite... to participate in our competitions the current Asian confederation champions and the previous ones," said Alejandro Dominguez, the president of South American football's governing body Conmebol.

"Qatar are the last champions of the Asian confederation — having champions participating in a competition always elevates the prestige and quality of football," said Paraguayan Dominguez.

Conmebol has 10 members but the Copa America usually features 12 teams meaning there are often a pair of invitees to the tournament.

Although the tournament invitees are now known for next year's Copa America, the final venue is still a mystery.

For the first time, South America's showpiece tournament will have two hosts: Argentina and Colombia, even though they are at opposite ends of the continent.

The Copa America has mostly taken place in odd years throughout its history, which began in 1916.

Recently it was played in the year following a World Cup but is now moving to the same window as the European Championships, two years apart from the global extravaganza.

Related Story