Qatari racer Nasser al-Attiyah maintained on Friday his lead of the 41st edition of Rally Dakar being held in Peru until January 17.
Al-Attiyah and his navigator Matthew Baumel finished second aboard their Toyota Hilux from Tacna to Arequipa, which covers a distance of 714km, 517 of which are special according to the Rally Dakar official website.
The winner of the 2011 and 2015 competitions finished the fifth round in 3.23.18 hours, 7.38 minutes behind Sebastian Loeb. Dakar Stephane Peterhansel finished the race in fourth place, covering the distance in 3.27.06 hours. Third place went to Juan Nani Roma, who finished in 3.26.42 hours. Al-Attiyah leads the general standings with a total time of 15.36.15 hours, 12.43 minutes ahead of Peterhansel.
Related Story