Injaaz Stud’s Izzthatright sprints to feature victory
November 15 2018 12:26 AM
Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club (QREC) Racing manager Abdulla Rashid al-Kubaisi (centre) and Grandstand and Protocol head Saad al-Hajri (right) with the winners of the Umm Al Houl Cup, after Harry Bentley rode Injaaz Stud’s Izzthatright, trained by Jassim Mohamed Ghazali, tovictory at the Al Rayyan Park yesterday. PICTURES: Juhaim

By Sports Reporter/Doha

Champion Trainer Jassim Mohamed Ghazali celebrated a one-two in the Umm Al Houl Cup, the six-furlong sprint feature on dirt, at the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club’s Al Rayyan Park yesterday, with Injaaz Stud’s Izzthatright improving his strikerate to 18 victories from 26 runs.
The winner was second on the day for both Ghazali and Champion Jockey Harry Bentley, as Izzthatright won by a neck ahead of JP Guillambert’s ride, Astley Hall.
The trainer-jockey duo had a winner in the first race of the day as Tadeem shed his maiden status.
Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani, Ibrahim al-Malki and Julian Smart were the other trainers with doubles on the day.
Jimmy Quinn-ridden Sylvia Pankhurst, owned by Ali Jumaa Abdullah al-Mudahka, and Eduardo Pedroza-helmed Perfect Storm, owned by Lulwa bint Faisal al-Haidos, picked up back-to-back victories for al-Malki on the day taking the two Thoroughbred Handicap races.
Tomas Lukasek was in the saddle on Ehwaz as the al-Ramzani ward shed his maiden status in the Purebred Arabian Maiden Plate before Qatari jockey Faleh Bughanaim helmed his fifth winner of the season, MJ Lattam, in the Local Purebred Arabian Conditions event.
Aaley Al Magam was Smart’s first winner of the season, with the six-year-old opening his season with a win in the 1700m Purebred Arabian Graduation Plate under JP Guillambert.
In the final race of the day, a Purebred Arabian Claiming Race, Smart’s Al Ghawja, ridden by Stephan Ladjadj in the colours of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Khalifa al-Thani, won the nine furlong run, even as, under claiming race rules, the ownership of the five-year-old colt changed hands.
Umm Qarn’s Aneeq and Jassim bin Ali al-Attiyah’s Numuthej were the other horses who registered their first career victories in the Purebred Arabian Maiden Plate and Local Thoroughbred Maiden Plate events respectively.
Race 1: 1. Tadeem (Harry Bentley), 2. Almasah (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Holy Shambles (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Acclaimed Dancer (Adnan Hawa). Won by: 4 1/4, 1 1/2, 2 1/4. Time: 1:04.81. Owner: Mansoor Ebrahim al-Mahmoud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 2: 1. Aneeq (Mathieu Pelletan), 2. Ellianka (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Alanoud (Jean Baptiste Hamel), 4. Echo De Faust (Eduardo Pedroza). Won by: Nk, 3 3/4, 3 1/2. Time: 1:21.34. Owner: Umm Qarn. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 3: 1. Ehwaz (Tomas Lukasek), 2. AJS Al Moheeb (JP Guillambert), 3. Muwahhab (Adnan Hawa), 4. Odale (Harry Bentley). Won by: 1, 13, 3 1/2. Time: 2:15.62. Owner: Al Jeryan Stud. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 4: 1. Numuthej (Marco Casamento), 2. The Shark (Anas al-Seyabi), 3. Admiral (Jimmy Quinn), 4. Shatir Bu Thaila (Stephan Ladjadj). Won by: 6 1/2, 3/4, 3/4. Time: 1:53.31. Owner: Jassim bin Ali al-Attiyah. Trainer: Mohamed Riyaz. 
Race 5: 1. Aaley Al Magam (JP Guillambert), 2. Damas (Ronan Thomas), 3. Bsheer (Faleh Bughanaim), 4. Jabal Aramoon (Marvin Suerland). Won by: 4 3/4, 2, 9 1/2. Time: 1:58.88. Owner: Al Shahania Stud. Trainer: Julian Smart.
Race 6: 1. Sylvia Pankhurst (Jimmy Quinn), 2. River Goddess (Marco Casamento), 3. Sarrab (Stephan Ladjadj), 4. Tautira (Rashid Ali al-Marri). Won by: 2, 10 1/2, 1. Time: 1:12.30. Owner: Ali Jumaa Abdullah al-Mudahka. Trainer: Ibrahim al-Malki.
Race 7: 1. Perfect Storm (Eduardo Pedroza), 2. Musical Terms (Harry Bentley), 3. Bluebeard (Gerald Avranche), 4. Could Be (Jimmy Quinn). Won by: 3 1/4, 2 3/4, 4. Time: 2:01.91. Owner: Lulwa bint Faisal al-Haidos. Trainer: Ibrahim al-Malki.
Race 8: 1. MJ Lattam (Faleh Bughanaim), 2. Istibdad (Harry Bentley), 3. Al Muntathar (Eduardo Pedroza), 4. Snafi Al Shajaa (Rashid Ali al-Marri). Won by: Shd, 7 1/4. 1 1/2. Time: 1:18.92. Owner: Mohanad Jassim al-Yaqout. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 9: 1. Izzthatright (Harry Bentley), 2. Astley Hall (JP Guillambert), 3. Notalot (Saleem Golam), 4. Victory Laurel (Jimmy Quinn). Won by: Nk, 5 1/2, 3/4. Time: 1:10.65. Owner: Injaaz Stud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 10: 1. Al Ghawja (Stephan Ladjadj), 2. AJS Al Ruwais (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Arghad (JP Guillambert), 4. Kufoo (Mathieu Pelletan). Won by: 2 1/2, 17, 16. Owner: His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Khalifa al-Thani. Trainer: Julian Smart.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*