Ghazali and Bentley shine with five wins
November 09 2018 12:22 AM
Hassan Ali al-Abdulmalik (left) receives the owner’s trophy in the presence of QREC general manager Nasser Sherida al-Kaabi (right) after Almuheet won the Losail Cup yesterday. PICTURES: Juhaim

By Sports Reporter/Doha

Hassan Ali al-Abdulmalik’s Almuheet won the Losail Cup for Purebred Arabians, the final race of the 11-race card, to hand trainer Ahmed Kobeissi his first victory of the season, even as Champion Trainer Jassim Mohamed Ghazali and Champion Jockey Harry Bentley notched up five victories at the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club’s Al Rayyan Park yesterday.
Saleem Golam helmed Almuheet to a narrow victory over Ghazali’s Rassan in the six-furlong finale, while jockey Jimmy Quinn and trainer Ibrahim al-Malki combined to win the 2000m Wathnan Cup for Thoroughbreds with Khataaf, their second winner of the day together.
Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari’s Mosayter and Injaaz Stud’s Wayside Flower topped the Al Wukair Cup for Local Thoroughbreds and Al Ghariya Cup for Thoroughbred fillies and mares respectively, both the winners saddled by Ghazali.
Melk and Carab were the other winners for Ghazali and Bentley in two Purebred Arabian Handicap events.
Umm Qarn’s Aahil picked up a dominant victory for Alban de Mieulle under Ronan Thomas in the Local Purebred Arabian Conditions event.
Quinn had earlier ridden Surra Man Raa in the colours of Sheikh Faisal bin Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani to lead a clean sweep of the top three positions for al-Malki in the Local Thorougbred Plate event for three-year-olds with Nahaab and Look At Me following the winner past the post in that order.
Faleh Bughanaim rode his second winner of the day in the Thoroughbred Claiming Race, guiding King Of Doha to victory for Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Ghazali-trained Strategist and al-Ramzani-schooled On The Front Line were the two Thoroughbreds who opened the 11-race card with their respective maiden victories.

Race 1: 1. Strategist (Harry Bentley), 2. Holy Shambles (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Shawwal (Gerald Avranche), 4. Dawryat (Marco Casamento). Won by: 1 ¾, 1 ¼, ¾. Time: 1:12.99. Owner: Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 2: 1. On The Front Line (Faleh Bughanaim), 2. Captain Vancouver (Marco Casamento), 3. Flower Festival (Stephan Ladjadj), 4. Suprematism (Tomas Lukasek). Won by: ¾, ¾, ¾. Time: 1:39.38. Owner: Nasser Owaida Salem al-Hajri. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 3: 1. Surra Man Raa (Jimmy Quinn), 2. Nahaab (Stephan Ladjadj), 3. Look At Me (Eduardo Pedroza), 4. Sarat Abha (Faleh Bughanaim). Won by: 4 3/4, 4 1/2, 3 3/4. Time: 1:28.00. Owner: Sheikh Faisal bin Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani. Trainer: Ibrahim al-Malki.
Race 4: 1. King Of Doha (Faleh Bughanaim), 2. Dark Light (Shakir al-Balushi), 3. Moamar (Harry Bentley), 4. Tautira (Marvin Suerland). Won by: 2 1/4, 3 3/4, 1 1/2. Time: 1:56.28. Owner: Abdulaziz Saleh al-Jaber. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 5: 1. Melk (Harry Bentley), 2. Lolita Du Panjshir (Meteb Ali al-Marri), 3. Arbed (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Rodin (Stephan Ladjadj). Won  by: Hd, 2 1/4, 2 1/2. Time: 1:36.99. Owner: Injaaz Stud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 6: 1. Carab (Harry Bentley), 2. Tayf (Ronan Thomas), 3. Djelamer (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Al Majh’Hoor (Faleh Bughanaim). Won by: 1/4, 1 1/2, 2 3/4. Time: 2:17.50. Owner: Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 7: 1. Aahil (Ronan Thomas), 2. Majnona (JP Guillambert), 3. Istibdad (Harry Bentley), 4. Kasser (Stephan Ladjadj). Won by: 5 3/4, No, 3 1/4. Time: 1:32.45. Owner: Umm Qarn. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 8: 1. Mosayter (Harry Bentley), 2. Footprintinthesand (Saleem Golam), 3. Al Lusail (Faleh Bughanaim), 4. Sraab (Ray Fuentes). Won by: 1/2, 2 3/4, 3/4. Time: 1:40.98. Owner: Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 9: 1. Wayside Flower (Harry Bentley), 2. Vona (JP Guillambert), 3. Izghawa (Jimmy Quinn), 4. Bronze Maquette (Eduardo Pedroza). Won by: No, 2 1/4, 1/2. Time: 1:25.61. Owner: Injaaz Stud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 10: 1. Khataaf (Jimmy Quinn), 2. Tamih (Jean Baptiste Hamel), 3. Domfront (Harry Bentley), 4. Quelindo (Saleem Golam). Won by: Nk, 2 1/2, Nk. Time: 2:05.11. Owner: Ibrahim al-Malki. Trainer: Ibrahim al-Malki.
Race 11: 1. Almuheet (Saleem Golam), 2. Rassan (Harry Bentley), 3. Lucky Sand (Jean Baptiste Hamel), 4. Raqee (Gerald Avranche). Won by: 3/4, 6, 6 3/4. Time: 1:19.46. Owner: Hassan Ali al-Abdulmalik. Trainer: Ahmed Kobeissi.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*