Majlis-e-Frogh-e-Urdu Adab to present ‘22nd Aalmi Frogh-e-Urdu Adab Awards’
October 17 2018 11:54 PM

Majlis-e-Frogh-e-Urdu Adab, a world-renowned Qatar-based literary Urdu organisation, is all set to present ‘22nd Aalmi Frogh-e-Urdu Adab Awards’ to Professor Dr Mazhar Mahmood Shairani, a reputed Urdu scholar from Pakistan, and Syed Mohammad Ashraf, a fiction writer and Urdu scholar from India, at City Centre Rotana on November 15. 
Additionally, special awards will be presented to people for their outstanding services for the promotion of Urdu language, literature and poetry, including Hassan Abdul Karim Chougule, Chairman of Anjuman-e-Mohibban Urdu Hind; Saif-ur-Rehman, Incharge of Qatar Urdu Radio Service; Azim Abbas, Chairman of Karwan-e-Urdu; and Kamran Rehmat, Editor at Community - Gulf Times.
Launched in 1996, the Aalmi Frogh-e-Urdu Adab each of which comprises of a gold medal and cash award of Rs150,000 are given annually to two Urdu writers and scholars, one from India and the other from Pakistan, for their life-time achievements in creative fiction, research and critical works.
The 22nd Aalmi Awards were decided by two independent juries. The jury in India was headed by Professor Dr Gopi Chand Narang, Padma Bhushan Award winner and former Chairman of Sahitya Academy of India, along with Proffesor Muhammad Shafey Kidwai, Rashid Anwer Rashid and Zaheer Ahmed. The jury in Pakistan was headed by Professor Dr Khurshid Rizvi along with Proffesor Dr Saleem Akhter, Professor Dr Tehsin Firaqi and Professor Dr Zahid Munir Aamir.
After the presentation of the awards, mushaira, ‘24th Aalmi Mushaira Bayad-e-Mushtaq Ahmed Yousufi’, will be held in the memory of legendary humourous and satirical writer, Mushtaq Ahmed Khan Yousufi, who breathed his last on 20th June this year. The Mushaira will feature poets from India, Pakistan, UK and Kuwait. Majlis will also release a special souvenir on the occasion.
Guest poets from Pakistan includes Professor Dr Peerzada Qasim, Dr Tehsin Firaqi, Abbas Tabish, Shakil Jazib, Syed Suleman  Gilani and Fartash Syed. The guest poets from India includes Manzar Bhopali, Tahir Faraz, Abrar Kashif, Sheen Kaaf Nizam and Dr Farida Akhter Tarunnum. 
Ehsan Shahid from UK, Khalid Sajjad from Kuwait, Atiq Anzar, Farzana Safdar and Roaise Mumtaz, all from Qatar, will also be part of the poetry symposium. Professor Dr Peerzada Qasim will preside over the mushaira. Professor Shafey Kidwai, an Urdu scholar from Aligarh Muslim University will be the guest of honour.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*