Al-Qahtani shines in Big Class at Emir’s Sword championship
February 24 2018 12:18 AM
Future Riders are all smiles as they pose after competing during the HH The Emir’s Sword Equestrian championship.

By Sports Reporter/Doha

Awad al-Qahtani was in prime form as the Qatari rider excelled on his 15-year-old grey stud Cassander Van Het Bremhof to win the Big Tour’s feature class on the second and penultimate day of the HH The Emir’s Sword Equestrian competition yesterday.
At the outdoor arena of Qatar Equestrian Federation, al-Qahtani and Cassander Van Het Bremhof were in sync during their routine to top the Table A, One round against the clock, Art. 238.2.1 (140/150cms). The winning time was 66.93secs.
The course was a twelve-obstacle ride which needed fourteen efforts comprising two double barriers and al-Qahtani sailed all with ease and quick time to take home a whopping QR37,500 in prize money.
Salmeen Sultan al-Swuadi came second with his gelding Cantaro 32, needing 70.75secs to finish as the runners-up. He won QR30,000. Coming in a creditable third was Hamad Nasser al-Qadi on mare St. Lucia in 72.34secs as he claimed a prize of QR22,500.
Today, the feature event of the HH The Emir’s Sword Equestrian championship will be held at 2:30pm with a total prize money worth QR250,000 up for grabs. In the absence of last year’s winner Sheikh Ali bin Khalid al-Thani and his Olympic teammate Bassem Hassan, it will be an open field.
Sheikh Ali and Bassem have skipped this year’s prestigious championship as the international riders are competing in the FEI championships in Europe.
A total of 11 riders will be in action in the marquee event, with regulars at the national Hathab series vying for the top honours. Salman Mohamed al-Emadi, Mubarak Yousuf al-Rumaihi, Rashid Towaim al-Marri, Hamad Nasser al-Qadi, Awad al-Qahtani and Hamad Ali al-Attiyah will all fancy their chances.
Today’s action though will start with dressage competitions at QEF’s indoor arena at 10am. While the showjumping competitions will begin at 2.30pm at the outdoor arena.
Meanwhile yesterday, the Medium Tour class of 125/135cm was clinched by Saeed Nasser al-Qadi on Jessico 4. He clocked 69.90secs which fetched him the prize of QR17,500.
Mohammed Said Haidan on Corrado’s Coriana was second in 77.33secs (QR14,000), while Mohammed Khalifa al-Baker on Davidoff Du Bois was third clocking 77.95secs (QR10,500).
In the Small Tour (110/120cm), Abdulla Rashid al-Amri rode Cinderella B to victory faultlessly in 63.61secs (QR12,500) beating Saeed Hamad al Rashdi, who clocked 64.77secs with Graffiti De Lully CH to win QR10,000.
Mohammad Hazim Abara astride Ambre Del Bosco was third with a time of 68.46secs and was awarded QR7,500. The Future Riders (85/100cm) event was won by Tamim Nasser al-Qadi riding Crispin, while Fahad Abdulkarim Abed rode Kashmir to victory in the 70/85cm class.

Big Tour: Table A, One round against the clock, Art. 238.2.1 (140/150cm) Prize-money: QR150,000
1. Awad al-Qahtani (Horse: Cassander Van het Bremhof); Faults:0; Time: 66.93secs; Prize: QR37,500
2. Salmeen Saultan al-Suwaidi (Cantaro 32); 0; 70.75secs; QR30,000
3. Hamad Nasser al-Qadi (St. Lucia); 0; 72.34secs; QR22,500

Medium Tour: Table A, One round against the clock, Art. 238.2.1 (125/135cm) Prize-money: QR70,000
1. Saeed Nasser al-Qadi (Jessico 4); 0; 69.90secs; QR17,500
2. Mohammed Said Haidan (Corrado’s Coriana); 0; 77.33secs; QR14,000
3. Mohammed Khalifa al-Baker (Davidoff Du Bois); 0; 77.95secs; QR10,500

Small Tour: Table A, One round against the clock, Art.238.2.1 (110/120cm) Prize-money: QR50,000
1. Abdulla Rashid al-Amri (Cinderella B); Faults: 0; Time: 63.61secs; Prize: QR12,500
2. Saeed Hamad al-Rashdi (Graffiti De Lully CH); 0; 64.77secs; QR10,000
3. Mohammad Hazim Abara (Ambre Del Bosco); 0; 68.46secs; QR7,500

Future Riders: Table A, One round against the clock, Art. 238.2.1 (85/100cm)
1. Tamim Nasser al-Qadi (Crispin); 0; 28.07secs
2. Tamim Nasser al-Qadi (GK Aqueena); 0; 29.65secs
3. Abdulrahman Eisa al Bukhari (Funny Thing); 0; 33.07secs

Future Riders: Table A, One round against the clock, Art. 238.2.1 (70/85cm)
1. Fahad Abdulkarim Abed (Kashmir); 0; 30.91secs
2. Abdulla Khalid al-Sharafi (Montana 521); 0; 32.90secs
3. Maryam Nassir al-Mutlaq (Daphrodite); 0; 37.17secs.
Today’s Schedule
Dressage Test (Level 1) 10 am; Dressage Test (Level 2) 11am
Showjumping: Big Tour Competition 2.30pm; Small Tour Competition 3.45pm; Medium Tour Competition 5.50pm.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*