Yazeed edges out Ebraz in thriller; Pazeer, Abha win
December 08 2017 01:30 AM
Winners of the Thoroughbred Guineas (Group 3) with their respective trophies after Abdulatif Hussain al-Emadi-owned Pazeer won the race at the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club yesterday. PICTURES: Juhaim

By Sports Reporter/Doha

Abdulatif Hussain al-Emadi’s Pazeer and Umm Qarn’s Yazeed bagged the Group 3 Thoroughbred Guineas and the Purebred Arabians Guineas at the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club here yesterday.
As expected Yazeed, along with HH Sheikh Mohamed bin Khalifa al-Thani’s Ebraz, the HH The Emir’s Sword winner, put on a cracker of a show in the penultimate race of the day, as Yazeed, holding a slight advantage on the home stretch under Stephan Ladjadj, registered his second straight victory for trainer Alban de Mieulle.

Winners of the Purebred Arabian Guineas with their trophies after Umm Qarn’s Yazeed won the race yesterday.

This was the second straight time that Julian Smart-trained Ebraz, ridden by Theo Bachelot, lost a duel to Yazeed, having last missed out on the HH Sheikh Abdullah Bin Khalifa Al Thani Silver Cup in January this year.
Early leader AJS Gannas was third under Tomas Lukasek.
Ibrahim al-Malki-saddled Pazeer showed amazing pace in the final furlong of the last race yesterday for an impressive three-and-a-half length victory.
Jockey Faleh Bughanaim guided Qatar debutant Burrishoole Abbey to a runner-up finish ahead of Tomas Lukasek-ridden Notalot.
It was Bughanaim’s sixth top-three finish on the day.
Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani-saddled Abha registered her second win this season when Lukasek helmed the Al Jeryan Stud filly to a victory in the Local Thoroughbred Guineas for three-year-olds.
Zuhair Mohsen-trained Saar raced to his second straight runner-up finish, splitting al-Ramzani’s two charges in the race, with Bughanaim guiding Al Lusail to third place.
Jockey Marc Lerner picked up two wins on the day, riding Zakhir Stud’s Zameer to one of the most thrilling victories on the day in the Purebred Arabian Conditions event.
Mohamed Salama Ashour-saddled Zameer and Umm Qarn’s TM Thunder Struck, ridden by Jean Baptiste Hamel for De Mieulle, were locked in a duel on the home stretch, a battle that Zameer won by a short head for his first victory in a little over two years.
In one of the closest races on the day, Lerner was astride Hassan Ali al-Matwi’s Raqee, the winner who edged out Al Shaqab Racing’s Al Dawoodea, the latter on his Qatar debut, by a nose.
In the Purebred Arabian Plate event for three-year-olds, Raqee and Hossain Mohamed Ashour-saddled Al Dawoodea, ridden by Bughanaim, set up a duel on the home stretch, one that the former won by the closest of margins.
In the first race of the day, Gerald Avranche helmed Montaser for the gelding’s second straight victory for trainer Yousef Ben Taher in the Local Thoroughbred Handicap event for horses rated 80 and below.
Bughanaim rode Deborah Mountain-trained Zuzi to third place behind Theo Bachelot-helmed Shatir Bu Thaila.
The Qatari jockey, who received the Best Jockey award at the Sports Excellency Awards in October this year, then had two runner-up finishes, first behind Harry Bentley-ridden Vona on Catch A Wave in the Thoroughbred Plate event for three-year-olds, and then behind Rockin Fella, with Eduardo Pedroza, on Qatar debutant Black Orange in the Thoroughbred Plate event for two-year-olds.

Race 1: 1. Montaser (Gerald Avranche), 2. Shatir Bu Thaila (Theo Bachelot), 3. Zuzi (Faleh Bughanaim), 4. Mister Lal (Eduardo Pedroza). Won by: 1 3/4, 1, 1 1/4. Owner: Ali bin Saeed al-Jafali al-Nuaimi. Trainer: Yousef Ben Taher.
Race 2: 1. Vona (Harry Bentley), 2. Catch A Wave (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Scudding (Pier Convertino), 4. I Am Lightning (Carlo Fiocchi). Won by: 1, 4, 1 3/4. Owner: Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 3: 1. Rockin Fella (Eduardo Pedroza), 2. Black Orange (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Shawwal (Carlo Fiocchi), 4. Kynoch (Theo Bachelot). Won by: 3/4, 1 1/2, Nk. Owner: Abdulaziz Saleh al-Jaber. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 4: 1. Raqee (Marc Lerner), 2. Al Dawoodea (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Yatzakhan (Marvin Suerland), 4. Ellianka (Darren Williams). Won by: No, 1 1/4, 4. Owner: Hassan al-Matwi. Trainer: Hassan al-Matwi.
Race 5: 1. Zameer (Marc Lerner), 2. TM Thunder Struck (Jean Baptiste Hamel), 3. AJS Anfowan (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Carab (Harry Bentley). Won by: Shd, 1 1/2, 4 1/4. Owner: Zakhir Stud. Trainer: Mohamed Salama Ashour.
Race 6: 1. Abha (Tomas Lukasek), 2. Saar (Gerald Avranche), 3. Al Lusail (Faleh Bughanaim), 4. Damsah (Saleem Golam). Won by: 1, 3 1/2, 1/2. Owner: Al Jeryan Stud. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 7: 1. Yazeed (Stephan Ladjadj), 2. Ebraz (Theo Bachelot), 3. AJS Gannas (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Sehab (Jean Baptiste Hamel). Won by: 1/4, 6 1/4, 1 1/2. Owner: Umm Qarn. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 8: 1. Pazeer (Eduardo Pedroza), 2. Burrishoole Abbey (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Notalot (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Pleaseletmewin (Harry Bentley). Won by: 3 1/2, Shd, 1 1/2. Owner: Abdulatif Hussain el-Emadi. Trainer: Ibrahim al-Malki.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*