Lyon spin gives Australia crushing win over Bangladesh
September 07 2017 02:59 PM
Australian cricketers congratulate Nathan Lyon (second right) after he claimed a wicket during the fourth day of the second Test against Bangladesh in Chittagong on Thursday.


Nathan Lyon spun Australia to a series-levelling win over Bangladesh on Thursday with a 13 wicket match-haul in the second and final Test.
Chasing 86 for victory on a deteriorating Chittagong pitch, the visitors lost their top three batsmen before completing a seven-wicket win in the final session of the fourth day.
Glenn Maxwell, who hit the winning six to take his score to 25, and Peter Handscomb, on 16, made sure Australia bounced back from their loss in Dhaka last week.
But off-spinner Lyon set up the win for the Steve Smith-led side after returning career-best match figures of 13-154.
Lyon claimed 6-60 to dismiss Bangladesh for 157 in their second innings.
The hosts lost their grip after bowling out Australia for 377 in their first innings without adding a run to the overnight total.
Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim managed a top score of 31 off 103 balls. But none of the other batsmen could cope with a pitch that brought joy to Lyon. 
Bangladesh started the day on a high, dismissing number 11 batsman Lyon in the second over of the day.
But Lyon returned to pick up regular wickets as Bangladesh slipped to 83-5 at lunch.
A 54-run sixth-wicket stand between Mushfiqur and Sabbir Rahman steadied the innings briefly but an unrelenting Lyon got Sabbir stumped for 24.
Mushfiqur fell to fast bowler Pat Cummins after being caught behind, leaving his side in dire straits.
Mominul, who made a 61-ball 29, became Lyon's fifth victim of the innings.
Cummins and Steve O'Keefe, who combined with Lyon to wipe off the tail in the final session of play, took two wickets each.


Bangladesh first innings 305 (Mushfiqur Rahim 68, Sabbir Rahman 66; N. Lyon 7-94)

Australia 1st innings
M. Renshaw c Rahim b Mustafizur 4
D. Warner c Imrul b Mustafizur 123
S. Smith b Taijul 58
P. Handscomb run out 82 
G. Maxwell c Rahim b Mehedi 38
H. Cartwright c Soumya b Mehedi 18
M. Wade lbw b Mustafizur 8
A. Agar b Shakib 22
P. Cummins lbw b Mehedi 4
S. O'Keefe not out 8
N. Lyon c Imrul b Mustafizur 0
Extras (b8, lb3, w1) 12 
Total (all out; 119.5 overs) 377
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Renshaw), 2-98 (Smith), 3-250 (Handscomb), 4-298 (Warner), 5-321 (Cartwright), 6-342 (Wade), 7-346 (Maxwell), 8-364 (Cummins), 9-376 (Agar), 10-377 (Lyon)
Bowling: Mehedi 38-6-93-3, Mustafizur 20.5-2-84-4 (w1), Shakib 31-3-82-1, Taijul 21-1-78-1, Nasir 6-2-14-0, Mominul 2-0-6-0, Sabbir 1-0-9-0

Bangladesh 2nd innings
Tamim Iqbal st Wade b Lyon 12
Soumya Sarkar c Renshaw b Cummins 9
Imrul Kayes c Maxwell b Lyon 15
Nasir Hossain c Smith b O'Keefe 5
Shakib Al hasan c Warner b Lyon 2
Mushfiqur Rahim c Wade b Cummins 31
Sabbir Rahman st Wade b Lyon 24
Mominul Haque c Cummins b Lyon 29
Mehedi Hasan not out 14
Taijul Islam b Lyon 4
Mustafizur Rahman b O'Keefe 0
Extras (b12) 12
Total (all out, 71.2 overs) 157
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Soumya Sarkar), 2-32 (Tamim Iqbal), 3-37 (imrul Kayes), 4-39 (Shakib Al Hasan), 5-43 (Nasir Hossain), 6-97 (Sabbir Rahman), 7-129 (Mushfiqur), 8-149 (Mominul), 9-156 (Taijul), 10-157 (Mustafizur)
Bowling: Cummins 11-3-27-2, Lyon 33-11-60-6, O'Keefe 22.2-6-49-2, Agar 5-1-9-0

Australia 2nd innings (target 86)
M. Renshaw c Mushfiqur b Shakib 22
D. Warner c Soumya b Mustafizur 8
S. Smith c Mushfiqur b Taijul 16
P. Handscomb not out 16
G. Maxwell not out 25
Extras 0
Total (3 wickets, 15.3 overs) 87
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Warner), 2-44 (Smith), 3-48 (Renshaw)
Did not bat: H. Cartwright, M. Wade, A. Agar, P. Cummins, S. O'Keefe, N. Lyon
Bowling: Mustafizur 5-1-16-1, Shakib 6-1-35-1, Taijul 4-0-26-1, Nasir Hossain 0.3-0-10-0
Toss: Bangladesh
Result: Australia won by seven wickets
Series: Two-match series drawn 1-1

Last updated: September 07 2017 03:04 PM

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*