Nepali poets gather to honour Bhanubhakta Acharya, the ‘First Poet’
July 18 2016 11:54 PM
The new working committee of Nabodit Literature Library.

By Usha Wagle Gautam

The International Nepalese Literature Society-Qatar (INLS) and Nabodit Literature Library (NLL) jointly organised a programme at Top Form Restaurant last Friday to remember Bhanubhakta Acharya, the “First Poet” of Nepal. The programme marked the 202nd birth anniversary of the poet, also known as Bhanu Jayanti, which is celebrated annually by Nepalis around the world.
NLL chairperson Rabindra Kumar Shrestha and Ganesh Prashad Banjade, chairperson of the Federation of Nepalese Journalists-Qatar, were the chief guests. Among other distinguished guests were community leaders Tirtha Sangam Giri, Binod Bhattarai, and Birendra Kumar Yakthumba.  
Bhanubhakta is regarded as the first poet of Nepal — the first to write poetry in Nepali language. The poets before him would usually adopt Sanskrit as their preferred language. Bhanubhakta was also the first to translate Ramayana from Sanskrit to Nepali. Kantipuri Nagari, one of his works, is well known in Nepal for its colourful, flowing praise of Kathmandu valley and its inhabitants.
At the Friday programme, poets Bindesh Thakur, KB Limbu, Suman Yonghung, Om Dahal, Rup Rasaili, Lekhnath Raut, Innocent Rajan, Nirajan Luitel, Santosh Adhikari, Rajan Rai, Hari Binod Adhikari, Abhinash Sapkota, Dip Milan, Rajendra Parajuli, Resham Basnet, Rajan Lama and Ishu Din Miya read their poems during the competition.
Innocent Rajan was declared the winner, followed by Rup Rasaili and Dip Milan in the second and third place, respectively, and were given cash prizes. The three-member jury consisted of Dipak Bhetwal, Tirtha Sangam Rai and Bhanu Sunuwar. Artist and community leader Tirtha Sangam Rai was also felicitated at the event for his cultural contributions to the Nepali community in Qatar.  
NLL also announced its new 19-member working committee at the programme. The committee is led by Sitaram Thapa and includes Lekh Karki as the first vice-chairperson, Ishwor Shahi as second vice-chairperson, Tika Khadka as the mobile library co-ordinator, Dip Milan as the general secretary, Rajan Lama as secretary, Dilip Parajuli as treasurer, and Ishwor Rai as the sub-treasurer.
Rup Rasaili, Chhatra Bahadur Khatri, Santosh Adhikari, Kamal Bahadur Nepali, Bijaya Fambo, Netra Basnet, Karna Limbu, Suresh Bhetwal, Sureshman Tamang, Chakra Karki and Rajan Rai are members of the new working committee.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*