Fawad Rana (centre), managing director of Qatar Lubricants Co. (Qalco), hands over the sponsorship agreement to Salim Kaiser, tournament co-ordinator of the 1st Mohamed Shamlan Memorial Cricket Tournament, in the presence of Gul Khan of Qatar Cricket Association, and Qatar Veterans’ Cricket League members Tahir Mehmood and MI Farid. The floodlit tournament begins today with the opening match between Qalco and M Pallonji at the MIC Cricket Complex at Umm Mesaieed. All the matches will be of 15-overs-a-side, starting at 18:30 hours every evening. The final is scheduled for May 26 at 18:00 hours. Eight top teams from the 2nd M Pallonji cricket tournament—Qalco, M Pallonji, Bin Yousef Cargo, Al Jazeera Network, Asian Cricket Club, Hanan XII, Tusker XII and Serandeep-A—will play in Division I of this knockout tournament. The eight Division II teams are: MIC, Al Shaqab Real Estate, QVC, Al Fardan, CDC, Serandeep-B, Gulf Lights and Force India.