Al-Rajhi edges out Tuganov; al-Qadi gives Qatar first win
December 25 2015 10:56 PM

Abdulrahman al-Rajhi receives the winner’s trophy after he emerged victorious in the Table A, Against the clock 145 cm, event yesterday. PICTURES: Garsi Lotfi


By Sahan Bidappa/Doha

In tough conditions, Abdulrahman al-Rajhi kept his cool to win the Table A, Against the clock 145 cm, the main event of the day at the Qatar International Show Jumping Championship.
The Qatar Equestrian Federation outdoor arena yesterday was pounded by heavy rain, but that didn’t deter the riders and horses from taking the field.
In the night’s marquee event, the riders had to compete with two horses, which made it even more difficult for them to focus. But al-Rajhi benefited from the ‘second chance’. He first went in with Chicago 84, but the pair committed eight faults and were languishing down the leaderboard.
However, al-Rajhi came back with Chilli Pepper Van de Helle and put in a faultless show, cruising home in a winning-time of 60.33 seconds. The Saudi Arabian rider got richer by QAR 74,500 for his effort.
Russia’s Vladimir Tuganov, who had won on Thursday, took the second spot. The 54-year-old two-time Olympian was back with his first night’s winner Bluebuster, but could not beat al-Rajhi’s time, finishing in 60.77 seconds for a purse of QAR 59,600. Ibrahim Hani Bisharat of Jordan was third in Bowie Z in a time of 61.45 seconds and took home QAR 44,700. Qatar’s Hamad Ali al-Attiyah missed out on the podium, finishing fourth.
Al-Rajhi was delighted with his effort and said it was difficult to keep focus due to rain. “The conditions were very difficult out there. It’s not easy when it’s raining, as it impacts both the riders and horse’s momentum. But credit to my horse Chilli Pepper Van de Helle. He was in good form today,” said the Saudi Arabian.
Earlier, Saeed Nasser al-Qadi gave Qatar the first win of the championship in the day’s opening event. Al-Qadi topped the timesheets in the Table A, One round against the clock with Jump Off, 120 cm event, winning on a scamper with his ally Jessico 4 in 31.58 seconds.  He was followed by Saudi Arabian duo Meshary Alhumaidi Alharbi (BMC White Nose) and Abdulrahman Albladi (Anufleur M), who finished second and third respectively.
In the Table A, One round against the clock with Jump Off 135 cm, Ramzy Hamad al-Duhami of Saudi Arabia won comfortably. Al-Duhami had been in good form finishing third in the three events on Thursday, and yesterday he pulled ahead of his rivals with a clinical display.
The Saudi Arabian, partnering Garlic VH Kapelhof, took out strides and cut corners to finish with a winning time of 39.33 seconds. They were ahead of another Saudi Arabian combo Naser al-Shawwaf astride Fulla, who finished second in 41.57 seconds. Qatar’s Sheikh Khalifa al-Thani came third with Dolce Vita M in a time of 45.01 secs.

QOC Secretary General receives a replica of the Doha Tour Trophy
Qatar Olympic Committee secretary general Dr. Thani Abdulrahman al-Kuwari received a replica of the Doha Tour Championship Trophy from Qatar Equestrian Federation president Hamad bin Abdulrahman al-Attiyah at the main arena, where the Qatar International Show jumping Championship is being held.
The Doha Tour Championship is a 4-star three-leg international show jumping competition which will take place at three different venues in Doha in March. The first leg will be held at QEF, the second at Al Shaqab and the last leg at Katara. The competition will also feature a 2-star competition for the young and upcoming riders.

Table A, Against the clock, Art. 238.2.1 - 145 cm
1. Abdulrahman al-rajhi (Saudi Arabia) Chilli Pepper Van de Helle. Time: 60.33 secs. Prize Money: QAR: 74,500
2. Vladimir Tuganov (Russia) Bluebuster. Time: 60.77 secs. QAR: 59,600.
3. Ibrahim Hani Bisharat (Jordan) Bowie Z. Time: 61.45 secs. QAR: 44,700.

Table A, One round against the clock with Jump Off, Art. 238.2.2 - 120 cm
1. Saeed Nasser al-Qadi (Qatar) Jessico 4 Time: 31.58 secs. Prize money: QAR 5,625.00
2 Meshary Alhumaidi Alharbi (Saudi Arabia) BMC White Nose Time: 32.56 secs. QAR 4,500.00
3. Abdulrahman Albladi (Saudi Arabia) Anufleur M Times: 34.07 secs. QAR 3,375.00

Table A, One round against the clock with Jump Off, Art. 238.2.2 - 135 cm
1. Ramzy Hamad al-Duhami (Saudi Arabia) Garlic VH Kapelhof. Time: 39.33 secs. Prize money: QAR 9,000
2. Naser al-Shawwaf (Saudi Arabia) Fulla. Time: 41.57 secs. QAR 7,200
3. Sheikh Khalifa al-Thani (Qatar) Dolce Vita M. Time: 45.01 secs. QAR: 5,400.

Last updated:

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*