Winners Qalco and runner-up team M Pallonji pose with their respective trophies, chief guest M Pallonji regional general manager Chidananda Nayak, guest of honour Qalco manager Shahid Iqbal and tournament coordinator Mohamed Sabir at the end of 2nd M Pallonji Qatar National Day Cricket Tournament 2015.


By Sports Reporter/Doha

In the 2nd M Pallonji Qatar National Day Cricket Tournament 2015, Qalco defeated M Pallonji by six wickets in a closely-fought encounter.
Eight teams participated in the knockout tournament with all the matches, including the final, played at the QCA Sports Complex on Friday.
Having won the toss, Qalco put in M Pallonji to bat, which seemed a right decision as M Pallonji went on to score 71 runs for the loss of seven wickets. Rasick contributed 31 runs off 20 balls with 2 sixes and a boundary, while Neeraj and Ibrahim added 10 and 9 runs respectively.
Tharaka took three wickets while Jonty and Hilmy took two wickets each.
In reply, Qalco batsmen reached the target 7.5 overs and won by 6 wickets. Aftab was the top scorer with 22 runs, a knock that included a six. Budhika added 16 runs (a six), while Amal scored an unbeaten 10 runs (1 six, 1 four).
Firdous took 2 wickets, while Dixit scalped one for M Pallonji.
Qalco’s Tharaka, who took three wickets, was adjudged Man of the Finals.
M Pallonji Regional general manager Chidananda Nayak was the chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony and Qalco’s Shahid Iqbal was the guest of honour.
M Pallonji’s Rasick and Firdous were declared at the Best Batsman and the Best Bowler of the tournament.

Related Story