Qalco beat Hanan to lift IBQ Trophy
February 23 2014 09:10 PM

Chandramohan Pillai, head of administration and facilities at IBQ, presents the winner’s trophy.

By Sports Reporter/Doha

In the 9th IBQ Masters Cricket Tournament 2014, Qalco defeated Hanan by a huge margin of 95 runs.
After winning the toss, Hanan put in Qalco to bat. Qalco lost both its openers cheaply and were 19 for two at the end of two overs. Thereafter, strong showing by Budhika, who scored 36 runs with two sixes and three fours, and Sarfaraz, who pitched in with 28 runs (three sixes and one four) stabilised their innings. Aftab and Talha added 19 and 18 runs respectively, as Qalco reached the total of 177 all out in the allotted 20 overs.
For Hanan, Shakeel claimed 4 wickets, Farooq 2 wickets, while Khadeer and Nazir took a wicket each.
In reply, Hanan batsmen seemed in a hurry and regularly lost wickets. Rauf and Ari were the only two batsmen to reach double figures scoring 20 and 14 respectively. Hanan were all out for 82 runs in 17 overs.
Inthikab and Zameer took 2 wickets each while Danuka, Talha, Ifzal, Sarfaraz, Shafique and Muzammil took a wicket each.
At the prize distribution ceremony, Chandramohan Pillai, head of administration and facilities at IBQ, was the chief guest, while S Nair from iGlow India, and Moheib from Alfardan Group were the guests of honour.
At the prize distribution, a total of over 350 prizes were given away, including extraordinary performances from all the league matches, umpires, scorers, commentators and individual prizes for the winners and runners-up team members. Also, a lucky draw was held for all attendees.

Man of the Finals: Budhika (Qalco)

Best Batsman of the tournament: Imran (Hanan)
Best Bowler of the tournament: Asanka (Al Zaman Exchange)
Best All-Rounder of the tournament: Bangeera (Al Sanabil)
Best wicketkeeper of the tournament: Renil (Al Zaman Exchange)

Last updated:

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*