IMAQ show will be ‘innovative, creative’
April 22 2013 11:54 PM

Film director Aashique Abu unveils the IMAQ plaque as Stephen Devassy looks on. PICTURE: Jayaram

By Ramesh Mathew/Staff Reporter

The Indian Movie Awards Qatar (IMAQ) 2013, which is making its debut this year, will be an event with “a lot of innovation, creativity and difference”, said Indian musician Stephen Devassy.

The IMAQ 2013 will be held at Al Ahli Stadium on May 10. Gulf Times is the official media.

Devassy, a promising musician and piano player and a graduate of the London’s Trinity College, said this while speaking at a meeting convened by the organisers - Music Lounge - at Radisson Blu yesterday.

One of the highlights of the show will be the participation of popular Malayalam film actor Mohan Lal. Lal confirmed his participation at a brief programme, telecast at yesterday’s meeting.

“Rather than the awards, the main focus of the show would be on a music and dance fusion to be presented by a team of artistes, mobilised by ‘Thndavam’, a well-known professional group, familiar with organising such shows,” said Devassy.

Also on view would be the demonstration of talents by percussion veterans Shiv Mani  and Mattanoor Sankarankutty Marar. Devassy’s own music band ‘Solid’ will give orchestration support to the show.

The show’s other attractions include veena recital by Rajesh Vaidhya, dance performers “Bad Salsa”  and comedy skits featuring Kalabhavan Navas, Subi Suresh and members of “Marimayam” team, who are familiar to Malayali audiences.

Also speaking yesterday Malayalam film director Aashique Abu, who is also closely associating with the event said every item planned for the May 10 show would be “rich in creativity and exclusivity”.  

The organisers also announced the winners of their awards. They are Fahad Fasil (Best male actor), Reema Kallingal (best female actress), “Ustad Hotel “ (Best film: Anwar Rasheed),  Lal Jose (Best Director), Anjali Menon (Best Screen play writer), Pratap Pothen (Best negative role), Aju Varghese (Best comedian), Nivin Pauly (Second best actor), Anushree (second best actress),  “Thattathin Marayathu” (Most popular film), Bijibal (Best music composer), Vijay Yesudas (Best playback male singer),  Remya Nambeesan   (Best female singer), T G Ravi (Life time achievement award), Shekhar Menon (Debutant male actor),  Isha Talwar (Debutant actress ), Biju Menon (popular actor), Manoj K Jayan (Special Jury Award), M Jayachandran (Special Jury award), Salim Kumar (Special Jury award).

Padmashri M A Yusuf Ali will inaugurate the show.

Besides Devassy and Abu, others present at the meeting were Chairman of Music Lounge John Thomas, managing director Santhosh Kuruvilla, CEO of Midtown Mall Nabeel Unni , actress and managing director of Dubai’s Whiz Media Nisha Joseph, and M V Mustafa.

Jaison George introduced the guests.  Mid Town Mall is the main sponsor. On its behalf Nabeel Unni received the first ticket of the show from Anil Srinivsan of Jet Airways.

Besides cash awards, the award winners will also receive an IMAQ plaque and citation.




Last updated:

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*