The South African Parliament has confirmed Cyril Ramaphosa as the President of South Africa for a second term.

Judge Raymond Zondo, who presided over the election session, announced that Ramaphosa secured 283 votes from the 400-member National Assembly. Julius Malema, the candidate from the radical left-wing Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) party, received 44 votes.

On Friday, President Ramaphosa reached an agreement to form a coalition between his party, the African National Congress (ANC), and the formerly opposing Democratic Alliance (DA). This marks the first time in 30 years that a coalition government will be formed in South Africa.

Earlier, the South African Electoral Commission announced that the ruling ANC won 159 seats in the elections held on May 29th. However, this marks the first time in its history that the party has lost its absolute majority in Parliament.

The DA, the largest opposition party, secured 87 seats in Parliament, while the new populist party (MK) led by former President Jacob Zuma won 49 seats. (QNA)
Related Story