The Russian Foreign Ministry announced Tuesday that it has imposed sanctions on a number of British politicians, journalists, and experts.
"In response to the hostile actions from the British side, a decision has been made to put a number of representatives of the political establishment, press corps and expert community of the UK on the Russian stop-list", the Ministry said in a statement.
The Russian Ministry indicated that the efforts made by some Britons to discredit Russia and isolate it internationally will be decisively confronted by Moscow.
In March last year, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced that it had included 23 British citizens from the armed forces, judiciary and prison system in Britain on the sanctions banned list.
Britain imposed more than 50 sanctions on Russia last February, targeting ammunition manufacturers, electronics companies, and diamond and oil traders.
Related Story