Abdulatif Hussain MZ al-Emadi’s in-form Ernest Aldrich won the Brooq Cup at the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club’s (QREC) Al Rayyan Racecourse and completed a double for jockey Soufiane Saadi yesterday.
It is a second straight victory for Ernest Aldrich in the season. The seven-year-old won the Doha Cup – 1700m conditions for three-year-old+ thoroughbreds – on November 18. The bay gelding also won the Al Jassasiya Cup – a 1900m Handicap (80-100) for four-year-old+ Thoroughbreds on sand track and thoroughbred handicap 75-95 (class 3) on dirt – in the last season.
Saadi guided Bader al-Balushi-trained bay gelding to beat Rashid Awajan KA al-Khayarin-owned Toromona with a neck to win the 1900m Thoroughbred Handicap (80-100) for three-year-old+ feature race of the day. Three Diamonds in the colours of Ahmed Hassan al-Malki al-Jehani came third. Saadi’s first win on the day came when he rode Three Quarter Racing-owned and Zuhair Mohsen-trained Haraiqu to victory in the 1900m contest for Local Purebred Arabian Maiden Plate for three-to-six-year-olds, the second race for the day.
Trainer Hamad al-Jehani also completed a double on the day when jockey Arnaud De Lepine guided Ahmed Hassan al-Malki al-Jehani-owned Alhafar to win the penultimate race of the day, 1900m Purebred Arabian Handicap (70-90) for three-year-old+.
Al-Jehani was in the winners’ enclosure earlier, as Jockey Tomas Lukasek rode Noora Racing Limited’s Silks Pass to 1200m Thoroughbred Handicap (60-80) race for year-old+.
11th Al Rayyan Meeting - Brooq Cup
WINNERS: (Horse, Trainer, Jockey)
1 - Brooq Cup - Thoroughbred Handicap 80-100 (Class 2)
Ernest Aldrich, Bader al-Balushi, Soufiane Saadi
2 - Purebred Arabian Handicap 70-90 (Class 3)
Alhafar, Hamad al-Jehani, Arnaud De Lepine
3 - Thoroughbred Handicap 70-90 (Class 3)
Crush And Run, Abdulla al-Mulla, Ivan Rossi
4 - Thoroughbred Handicap 60-80 (Class 4)
Silks Pass, Hamad al-Jehani, Tomas Lukasek
5 - Thoroughbred Handicap 0-75
Division 2 (Qatari riders race) (Class 5)
Owners Dream, Mohamed Ghazali, Saleh Faraj al-Otaibi
6 - Purebred Arabian Handicap 55-75 (Class 5)
Forgehill Chiraz, Mohamed Hassan al-Matwi, Saleh Faraj al-Otaibi
7 - Thoroughbred Handicap (0-75)
(Qatari riders only)
Dejame Paso, Debbie Mountain, Mohamed Hassan Ali Alabdulmalik
8 - Local Purebred Arabian Maiden Plate (Class 6)
Haraiqu, Zuhair Mohsen, Soufiane Saadi
9 - Purebred Arabian Handicap 45-65 (Class 6)
Burkan Zakhir, Mohamed Hassan al-Matwi, Rashid Ali al-Marri
Related Story