As part of the Hindi Day celebrations, the department of Hindi at the MES Indian School conducted Chetana-2023 - inter-school Hindi competitions, featuring recitation for the junior, elocution for the intermediate and essay writing for the senior categories.
A total of 49 students from 19 Indian schools in Qatar participated. The panel of judges comprised, Alka Choudhary, eminent writer and social activist; Susmitha Pattnaik, poet, translator and avid learner and Chandra Joshi Gururani, writer, fashion designer and Indian Women's Association joint general secretary.
In the junior category for recitation, Maheen Malik (MES), Aadhya Anklesh Gajbhiye (Noble International School) and Aarohi Vandana Ravitambr (DPS Modern Indian School) were first, second and third winners, respectively.
In the intermediate elocution, Vaishvi Rahul Shah (MES), Shamita Adiga (Birla Public School) and Samadrita Basu (DPS-Monarch International School) stood first, second and third, respectively.
In the senior category of essay writing contest Ranushi Bharadwaj (Noble International School), Syed Dawar Abbas (MES) and Nandini Haran (Loyola International School) were the first, second and third winners respectively.
The felicitation ceremony had MES principal Dr Hameeda Kadar as chief guest and Hindi poet and writer Dr Meenu Parasar Mansi as the guest of honour.
Rajendran S, co-ordinator, department of Hindi, Boys’ Section, overall co-ordinator of the event, also spoke. Various cultural programmes were held.
Earlier, the competitions started with a prayer by Hathim Faisal (grade IV-B).
The felicitation ceremony started with a prayer by teacher Mohammed Habeebulla.
Shivam Bhutra (VIII-F) welcomed the gathering.
Sameer Pande, a teacher, in the department of Hindi, introduced the programme.
A theme song about Hindi, penned by Rajendran and composed by music teacher Anver V P was presented by the school choir.
A patriotic song was presented by junior students led by Nivedh Shankar and a team guided by music teacher Mallika Shaji, followed by a dance performance by Fathima and the team of the junior section choreographed by teacher Rajani S N. Aleena Elizabeth Gino (IX L) and team also presented a dance.
The principal released the fifth edition of ‘Sphoorthi’ Hindi Magazine, which showcased the students' linguistics and literary skills in Hindi. Ayana Sameer (XII O) proposed the vote of thanks.
Deona, Amina (IV P), Verendra Redkar (IX P), Heba Masood (IX M), and Daivik Parmar (VIII F) compered the programme. Haroon, department of ICT along with his team provided technical assistance for the programme.
Related Story