Birla Public School (BPS) has emerged as QPSDL National Champions for Season 2022–23, in both Boys and Girls category and also bagged third position in the Secondary School Debate Leagues for Boys.
The debate was organised by Qatar Debate Centre, a member of Qatar Foundation.
Representing the QSDL Boys team, Dhairya Kamalkumar, Riaan Jigar and Aryan Khandelwal along with the Debate Club co-ordinator Remya Vinod and Jino Koshy received the trophy on May 16 at a ceremony in Education City. The other team members -- Karthikeyan G, Mohamed Maazin and Ponnambalam V Dhairya Kamalkumar received the Best Speaker Award in the Open Debate Leagues Category. The teams were trained under the guidance of Jeena Pauline.
On May 17, the QPSDL Girls Team comprising Devipriya Chandhirahasan, Ananya Mathias and Aalia Mazhar Khan lifted the champions trophy. Ananya Mathias was declared the Best Speaker in the Final.
The QPSDL Boys team comprising Raaghav A M, Rishab Murthy, Nihal R, Bhanu Harsha, Umesh G and Mohamed Rayan S bagged the first runner-up trophy in League Level Debate.
The QPSDL Boys team with Umesh G, Bhanu Harsha and Mohamed Rayan S became the QPSDL National winners on May 18. Umesh G was chosen the Best Speaker in the Final.
The QPSDL teams were under the guidance of coach Aman Salma Nasroon. Academic director - principal Harish Sanduja, vice-principals Radhika Rele and Edna Fernandez appreciated the debaters, coaches and the co-ordinator.