Arena International Master Syed Abdul Khader continues his dominance as he bagged the championship again in the Filipino Chess Players League (FCPL) Blitz Chess Tournament (May 2023 edition), held at Uno Café recently.
Khader has been formidable throughout the tournament with a perfect score of 9/9. Other winners are, from the second place: Aldrin Troy Tenorio, Louie Delcoro, Albin Sajan, Ryan Mendoza, Richard Nepacena, Enrique Naperi, Pranav Pradeep Nair, Abel Sajan and Rolly Patricio with each receiving trophies and cash prizes.
Category prizes were awarded to top performers in each category: Best U8 - Jeanna Jobsy, Best U10 - Annliya Sajan, Best U12 - Johan Jobsy, Best U14 - Taksh Sharma and Best Women - Nishita Karthick.
The tournament was spearheaded by FCPL president Elmer Espiritu, tournament director John Tia and chief arbiter Rolenson Loyola, in co-operation and sponsored by Uno Café owned by Jeanette Gotangogan.