Malaysia's Prime Minister, Anwar Ibrahim, today announced his new Cabinet which consists of 28 ministers.

The new Government includes the two Deputy Prime Ministers, the leader of the United Malays National Organization Party (UMNO), Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, and the member of the Alliance (Sarawak Parties), Fadillah Yusof, who are the two largest allies of the People's Justice Party (PKR) headed by the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Anwar Ibrahim, together with the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Zambary Abdul Kadir, the Minister of Defense, Mohamad Hasan, Minister of Economy, Rafizi Ramli, and the Minister of Trade and International Industry, Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz, (the former Minister of Finance).

Ibrahim stated in a speech on state television, that the new ministers will take the oath of office before King Abdullah of Pahang on Saturday, pointing out that, in order to accelerate efforts in the implementation of their tasks and duties, he will hold a special meeting with the new ministers to brief them of some new rules, directives and methods.

He confirmed that the government would prioritise good governance, alleviation of the burden on the people, economic recovery and rationalisation of spending. He added that his new government would be strong as it is supported by two thirds of the total number of the House of Representatives with diverse alliances and political parties.

The new Malaysian government is characterised by a smaller number of its (28 ministers) compared to its predecessor, headed by Ismail Sabri (31 ministers), and to the government of the former Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin (32 ministers).

It's worth mentioning that Anwar Ibrahim, 75, was sworn in last Thursday by his country's king, becoming the tenth prime minister in Malaysia's history.

Related Story