Qatar cricket team arrives in Kuwait for the Asian sub-regional qualifiers
April 18 2018 10:52 PM
Qatar cricket squad pose after they land in Kuwait for the Asian sub-regional qualifiers for the 2020 ICC Twenty20 World Cup.

By Sports Reporter/Doha

An 18-member Qatar cricket squad yesterday arrived in  Kuwait for the Asian sub-regional qualifiers for the 2020 ICC Twenty20 World Cup qualification tournament.
The squad is led by Inam-Ul Haq and the head of delegation is Eisa Yaqoub al-Yaqoub, while Gul Khan Jadoon is the team manager. Speaking on the occasion, Jadoon said: “We’re going to Kuwait with the best possible team. The players are in good shape due to their participation in the just-concluded T20 and Qatar Cricket League.
“Our main aim is to play hard game and try to qualify for the next stage. The opponent teams are strong as well. We’re playing the first match against the UAE. It is a tough match and it will set the ball rolling for our rest of the campaign. We’ve confidence in our team and talented players. We’ll take one match at a time and let us see how we fare there,” he said.
The seven-team qualifiers, co-hosted by Qatar and Kuwait, will start on April 20 and the opening day pits Kuwait against the Maldives, Qatar against the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia against Bahrain.
Twelve regional qualifiers are being held by the International Cricket Council (ICC), with 61 teams competing during 2018 in five regions – Africa (3 groups), Americas (2), Asia (2), East Asia Pacific (2) and Europe (3). 
The top 26 sides from these will then contest five regional finals in 2019, with seven and hosts then going on to compete in the 14-team 2020 qualifiers with Hong Kong, the Netherlands, Scotland, Ireland, Oman and Zimbabwe. From this event, six will advance to the World Championships in Australia and will play against the top 10 ICC T20 ranked teams.
Qatar squad:
Inam-Ul Haq (captain); Tamoor Sajjad (vice-captain); Zaheeruddeen Ibrahim; Iqbal Hussain Chaudhry; Kamran Khan; Mohamed Nadeem; Mohamed Awais Malik; Mohamed Rizlan; Noman Sarwar; Qalandar Khan; Khurram Shahzad; Mohamed Tanveer; Faisal Javed Khan; Gayan Buddika
Coach: Simon Gough.  Physio: Mohamad Jahangir.
20 April: Kuwait vs Maldives; Qatar vs UAE; Saudi Arabia vs Bahrain
21 April: Kuwait vs Qatar; Maldives vs Bahrain; Saudi Arabia vs UAE
23 April: Maldives vs Qatar; Bahrain vs UAE; Saudi Arabia vs Kuwait
24 April: Maldives vs UAE; Saudi Arabia vs Kuwait
26 April: Kuwait vs United Arab Emirates; Bahrain vs Qatar; Saudi Arabia vs Maldives

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*