Qatar's Iconic English Newspaper.
We offer a broad spectrum of advertising capabilities to maximize your brand reach in Qatar & beyond.
PML-N gives final shape to 20-member cabinet
June 02 2013 10:03 PM

With the oath taking of newly elected representatives and advent of 14th National Assembly of Pakistan, consultation process in the majority party, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), has got momentum.

Political sources said that after PML-N President Mian Nawaz Sharif takes oath as prime minister on Wednesday, a short but abler cabinet would be constituted.

The PML-N leadership has set a four-point criterion to select federal ministers i.e. the aspirant should be experienced, able and should have an unwavering association with the agenda of change, and all regions of the country should be represented.

Sources said that Nawaz Sharif has consulted senior leaders for the formation of his cabinet. The cabinet could comprise 20 members in view of the austerity measures to cut down the expenditure.

Though the PML-N has a simple majority in the National Assembly, it has decided to give representation to its ally, the PML-F in the cabinet, and Sadruddin Rashdi, brother of Pir Pagara, has been included in the list of ministers.

Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Khawaja Asif, Senator Ishaq Dar, Khawaja Saad Rafiq, Khurram Dastagir, Lt Gen (Retd) Abdul Qadir Baloch, Senator Pervaiz Rashid, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Zahid Hamid, Senator Mushahidullah Khan, Chaudhry Jaafar Iqbal, Pir Sadruddin Rashdi, Sardar Mohammad Yousaf, Syed Javed Ali Shah, Balighur Rehman, Dr Hammadullaha and Anusha Rehman are proposed to be given federal ministerial slots. The name of Tariq Javed Fatmi has been proposed for adviser on foreign affairs.

Chaudhry Nisar, who had been special aide of prime minister on petroleum and natural resources and minister for inter-provincial coordination in the previous Nawaz governments, has been indicated as interior minister this time.

Chaudhry Nisar has the privilege to come to the National Assembly after being elected for the eighth time.

Khurram Dastagir is highly educated and moderate person. He is qualified from the Unites States in the field of engineering and economics.

He, in the last government, has been chairman of the Standing Committee on Commerce, and during the past 5 years arranged 61 meetings of the committee on various issues including Pak-Afghan Trade, Pak-India trade, issues of WTO and NICL scandal. Khuram Dastgir is also well-versed and good orator in English and Urdu.

Senator Ishaq Dar and Khawaja Asif are the two PML-N leaders whom Nawaz Sharif has already informed about their ministerial responsibilities.

Senator Pervaiz Rashid and Zahid Hamid might be given the ministries of Information and Broadcasting and Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs respectively.

Sardar Yousaf could be the minister for communications. South Punjab may be represented by Syed Javed Ali Shah and Balighur Rehman as consultation process in this regard is going on.

After the defeat of Amir Muqam in Swat, his brother Dr Hammadullah is expected to be included in the federal cabinet.

It was learnt that Senator Mushahidullah Khan will be made governor in Sindh, Iqbal Zafar Jhagra in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Senator Rafique Rajwana in Punjab. However, the final decision in this regard lies with Nawaz Sharif.

Last updated:

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*