Birla Public School organised the first ever BPS Spell Casters’ inter-school competition recently on September 10, 2022, in all its campuses for grades 1 to 12.
The champion spellers from 12 to 14 schools across Qatar, who had won the preliminary round in their schools, participated.
In the Primary 1 and 2, category 1 Diya Prakash (DPS MIS) became the champion speller. Aydin Mohamed (Podar Pearl School) shared the second position with Eshan Khan (The Scholars International) and Mohamed Abdul Gaffar (Noble International School). The third position was shared by Ahmed Hashim Vakkeparambil (MES, Abu Hamour) and Zayaan Hazeeb (MES Indian School).
In the Primary 3 to 5 Section, category 2, Ayman Hossain (Noble International School) was the champion speller. The second position was shared by Aishah Saayid Rahim (Rajagiri Public School) and Kayden Gonsalves (MES Indian School, Abu Hamour). Anamika Sanjeev (Ideal Indian School) was third.
In the Middle Section, category 3, Saqib Anil (Podar Pearl School) was the champion speller. Aaryan Sujith (DPS-MIS) came second, and Dishaa Sharma (Rajagiri Public School) and Nishitha Jithesh (Birla Public School) shared the third position.
In the Secondary Section, category 4, Darla Ailyn Shaji (MES Indian School) was the champion speller. Tejaswi Manoj (DPS-MIS) was second. The third position was shared by Fahad Ali
(MES, Abu Hamour), Gauri Parvati (Rajagiri Public School) and Advik Jain (Birla Public School).
BPS vice-chairperson Maria P Thomas was the chief guest and lead supervisory judge. Student cultural secretary Smrithi Haridasan welcomed the gathering. Academic director-principal Harish Sanduja, vice-principals Edna Fernandez and Rajesh Pillai, and Department of English head Lakshmi Devi were among those present. Student cultural secretary Shreeram Sabade proposed a vote of thanks.