‎Due to the recent emergence of the new Covid-19 Omicron variant, and with immediate effect, Qatar Airways will no longer be accepting passengers travelling from five southern African countries in the airline's global network, a statement issued by the national carrier Saturday said.
"However, we will continue to accept passengers for travel into these countries in line with current restrictions," it said.
Passengers who are booked on Qatar Airways flights from seven destinations - Luanda (LAD), Angola; Maputo (MPM), Mozambique; Johannesburg (JNB), Capetown (CPT), Durban (DUR),South Africa; Lusaka (LUN), Zambia; and Harare (HRE), Zimbabwe - will not be accepted for travel until further notice.
"These restrictions will remain in place until we receive further guidance from the World Health Organisation (WHO). We will continue to review the situation on a daily basis as new information becomes available," the airline said.

Kuwait to suspend flights from 9 African countries

Kuwait is to suspend direct flights from nine African countries-- South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zambia and Malawi-- from Sunday due to the Omicron variant of the coronavirus , the government communication centre tweeted.
Related Story