Shura Council holds 2nd Meeting of 49th Session, Forms Five Committees
November 09 2020 03:02 PM
Shura Council holds 2nd Meeting of 49th Session
The Shura Council meeting was held under the chairmanship of HE the Speaker of the council Ahmed bin Abdullah bin Zaid Al Mahmoud.


The Shura Council held on Monday the second meeting of its 49th session, under the chairmanship of HE the Speaker Ahmed bin Abdullah bin Zaid al-Mahmoud.

The council reviewed His Highness the Amir's speech at the opening of the 49th session last Tuesday. Members expressed their appreciation of the Amir's praise of the Shura Council's role on the regional and international levels, most prominently organising the 7th Global Conference of Parliamentarians against Corruption in Doha (GOPAC). The Amir also congratulated the council on electing HE al-Mahmoud as Chairman of the organisation.

The members also highlighted His Highness the Amir's praise of the council's efforts in reaching an agreement with the United Nations to establish a UN counter-terrorism office for parliamentarians in Doha, that would be concerned with enhancing the role of parliamentarians all over the world.

The members also welcomed the announcement made by the Amir to hold Shura Council elections in October of next year, describing it as another achievement under the leadership of His Highness that will advance the work of the council, enhance popular participation in the decision-making process, support development efforts, and bolster stability.

The members also praised the content of the Amir's speech, saying it was comprehensive with clear objectives regarding the future and the commitment to implementing developmental programmes and projects, in addition to renewing Qatar's position regionally and internationally, particularly the Palestinian cause.

The Amir reiterated Qatar's position of supporting the rights of Palestinians, including establishing an independent state on the borders of 1967 with East Al Quds as it capital, in addition to reaching a just solution to the issue of refugees in line with international resolutions.

HE the Speaker issued a directive to refer the speech to the council's committees to design its objectives into programmes that will contribute to achieving those objectives.

The council formed five committees. They are:

The Legal and Legislative Affairs Committee with the membership of Nasser bin Rashid al-Kaabi, Rashid bin Hamad al-Maadadi, Youssef bin Rashid al-Khater, Nasser bin Khalil al-Jaidah, Abdulrahman bin Youssef al-Khulaifi, Aisha bint Youssef al-Mannai, Mohamed bin Ali al-Henzab and Abdullatif bin Mohamed al-Sada.

The Financial and Economic Affairs Committee with the membership of Nasser bin Rashid bin Sarea al-Kaabi, Mohamed bin Khalid al-Ghanem, Nasser bin Suleiman al-Haidar, Abdullah bin Khalid Mohamed al-Jabor al-Nuaimi, Dahlan bin Jamaan Bashir al-Hamad, Ali bin Abdullatif Mohamed al-Mohannadi, Nasser bin Sultan bin Nasser al-Humaidi, Khalid bin Abdullah Rashid al-Buainain, Dr Hind bint Abdulrahman Mohamed Mubarak al-Muftah, Fahd bin Mohamed Fahd Saad Bozwair, Saleh bin Abdullah Mohamed al-Ibrahim al-Mannai, Mohamed bin Ali Sultan al-Ali al-Maadheed and Reem bint Mohamed Rashid al-Mansouri.

The Services and Public Utilities Committee with the membership of Hadi bin Saad al-Khayareen, Ismail bin Mohamed Shareef al-Emadi, Youssef bin Ahmed Ali Omran al-Kuwari, Khalifa bin Ali Khalifa al-Hitmi, Nasser bin Salmeen Khalid al-Suwaidi, Mohamed bin Mahdi al-Ahbabi, Mubarak bin Saif al-Mansouri, Khalid bin Mohamed Ajaj al-Kubaisi and Mohamed bin Mansour al-Shahwani.

The Internal and External Affairs Committee with the membership of Ibrahim bin Khalifa al-Nasr, Nasser bin Ahmed al-Malki, Dr Youssef bin Mohamed Youssef al-Obaidan, Abdulrahman bin Youssef al-Khulaifi, Dahlan bin Jamaan Bashir al-Hamad, Abdulaziz bin Mohamed Abdullah al-Attiyah, Mohamed bin Mahdi Ajian al-Ahbabi, Khalid bin Abdullah al-Buainain, Abdullah bin Fahd Ghorab al-Marri, Abdullatif bin Mohamed al-Sadaand Dr Hind bint Abdulrahman Mubarak al-Muftah.

The Cultural and Information Affairs Committee with the membership of Rashid bin Hamad al-Maadadi, Abdullah bin Khalid al-Mana, Saqr bin Fahd al-Muraikhi, Ahmed bin Khalifa al-Rumaihi, Abdullah bin Khalid al-Nuaimi and Dr Hessa bint Sultan al-Jaber.

Last updated: November 09 2020 09:45 PM

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*