When Qatar left a mark at Arabian Gulf Cup
November 24 2019 11:05 PM
Qatar’s win
Qatar’s win in 2004

This year will be the fourth time that Qatar will host the Arabian Gulf Cup in the tournament’s 50-year history, with the first edition held in 1970 in Bahrain.
In a year which began with Al Annabi’s victory at the AFC Asian Cup in the United Arab Emirates, it is a great opportunity for Felix Sanchez and his men to wrap up with a memorable fourth Gulf Cup glory at home.
Here’s a look at the past editions of the Arabian Gulf Cup when Qatar either played a fantastic host or lifted the trophy.

Year: 1976
Hosts: Qatar (Khalifa International Stadium)
Champion: Kuwait
Matches: 22 games
Goals: 84 goals
Top-scorer: 9 goals Jassim Yacoub (KUW)
Player of the tournament: Ali Kazem (IRQ)
Best goalkeeper: Hammoud Sultan (BRN)

The Gulf Cup landed for the first time in Qatar in 1976. The country played an exceptional host, even starting with a 1-0 victory over Saudi Arabia.
The fourth edition of the tournament also saw Iraq’s debut, and they opened their campaign with a 4-0 win over Oman. The tournament was held on a one-round basis. Kuwait and Iraq went unbeaten and ended up with the same number of points (10 points), and had also tied 2-2 during the round-robin, forcing a playoff to decide the champion.
In the playoff, three-time champions Kuwait got on to the scoresheet first in the eighth minute, but were stunned when Iraq levelled it a minute later. However, the Kuwaitis pumped three more to Iraq’s one as the final ended 4-2.

Year: 1992
Hosts: Qatar (Khalifa International Stadium)
Champion: Qatar
Matches: 15 games
Goals: 30 goals
Top scorer: 3 goals Mubarak Mustafa (QAT)
Player of the tournament: Mubarak Mustafa (QAT)
Best goalkeeper: Hammoud Sultan (BRN)

For 22 years, the tournament was either won by Kuwait or Iraq. With an exceptional generation of players, Qatar broke the stranglehold at home at Khalifa International Stadium in 1992.
Iraq was absent from this tournament and continued its absence for 12 more years.
Most notable in the historic generation of Qatari talent were the best player in the tournament and the top-scorer Mubarak Mustafa, Mahmoud Sophie, Adel al-Mulla and Adel Khamis.
Qatar achieved the title by defeating Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait and United Arab Emirates, while the last round 0-1 loss to Saudi Arabia made no impact on Qatar’s table-topping effort.
Year: 2004
Hosts: Qatar (Al Sadd Stadium and Al Rayyan Stadium)
Champion: Qatar
Matches: 16 games
Goals: 50 goals
Top scorer: 4 goals Hassan Rabie (OMA)
Player of the tournament: Majed al-Murshidi (KSA)
Best goalkeeper: Ali al-Habsi (OMA)

In 2004, a new era began with the return of Iraq to the tournament, and thus the format of the championship was changed to a two-group league.
The first group included Qatar, Oman, Iraq and UAE, while the second one included Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain and Yemen.
Oman and Qatar qualified from Group A, while Kuwait and Bahrain qualified from Group B, while the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Iraq tasted bitter exits.
The final was played between first-time finalist Oman and hosts Qatar, and the affair ended 1-1, before the matters moved to the penalty shootout. Al Annabi the shootout 6-5 and lifted their second title at home.

Year: 2014
Hosts: Saudi Arabia (King Fahd International Stadium and Prince Faisal Bin Fahd Stadium in Riyadh)
Champion: Qatar
Matches: 16 games
Goals: 33 goals
Top scorer: 5 goals Ali Mabkhout (UAE)
Player of the tournament: Nawaf al-Abed (KSA)
Best goalkeeper: Qassem Burhan (QAT)

The tournament was moved from Basra in Iraq due to preparations and security concerns to Saudi Arabia, where the 22nd edition was hosted at King Fahd International Stadium and Prince Faisal Bin Fahd Stadium in Riyadh. This was the fourth time that Saudi Arabia hosted the tournament.
The first group included Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Qatar, Bahrain, and the second comprised UAE, Oman, Iraq and Kuwait.
Qatar participated in the tournament under the leadership of coach Djamel Belmadi and progressed steadily through the tournament, until making it through to the final against the hosts in a repeat of the 2002 edition.
Qatar this time reversed the equation and won the title 2-1 with goals by Mehdi Ali and Khoki Bou Alam.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*