Yangpaiboon wins gold as Thailand seal two Olympics spots
November 08 2019 11:10 PM
Kuwait’s Abdulrahman al-Faihan (left) and Sarah Alhawal won the mixed team trap gold at the Lusail Shooting Complex yesterday. PICTURE: Nasar K

By Sports Reporter/ Doha

Naphaswan Yangpaiboon secured an Olympic quota for Thailand as she won the women’s 25 metres pistol final at the Asian Shooting Championships in Doha yesterday. At the Lusail Shooting Complex, it was a double delight for Thailand as Tanyaporn Prucksakorn also won her country a spot at the next year’s Tokyo Games. India’s Chinki Yadav and Mongolia’s Otryadyn Gundegmaa were the others to bag the quotas for their countries.  
All the four had ensured the Olympic qualification after having entered the final, as the two Chinese and two Koreans had already won the quota. Yangpaiboon made it an unforgettable day for as the 2018 Asian Games silver medallist won the event with a score of 36. Gundegmaa finished second with 33, while China’s Zhang Jingjing took home bronze after scoring 28.
South Korea’s Kim Jangmi, the London 2012 Olympic gold medallist in the event, had to settle for fourth place with 26 points. Yadav, who finished sixth in the event, won India’s second Olympic quota in her category following Rahi Sarnobat’s triumph at the ISSF Munich World Cup earlier this year. Thai Prucksakorn came seventh but with Olympic quotas achieved, it was a mission accomplished for the shooters.
In the men’s 25m standard pistol event, China’s Yao Zhaonan triumphed with 578 points. India’s Udhayveer Sidhu took silver with 577 points and South Korea’s Han Daeyoon came third with 572. There was also success for China in the women’s 50m rifle prone event, Wan Xiangyan taking the gold medal with 627.2 points. South Korea’s Lee Eunseo was the runner-up with 625.1 points and was followed in the standings by Malaysia’s Nur Suryani Mohamed Taibi with 622.2.
In the equivalent men’s event, Kazakhstan’s Konstantin Malinovskiy won with 625.1 points. Completing the top three were China’s Liu Gang and Li Xinmiao, with points totals of 623.8 and 623.6 respectively.
In the mixed team trap final, Kuwait’s Abdulrahman al-Faihan and Sarah Alhawal beat China’s He Weidong and Deng Weiyun 34-32. Chinese Taipei’s Liu Wan-Yu and Yang Kun-Pi took bronze after defeating Kazakhstan’s Maxim Kolomoyets and Anastassiya Davydova 42-39. Meanwhile, India’s juniors continued to excel, as their medal tally swelled to 35 of which six are in gold. 

The results:
Mixed trap: 1. Kuwait 34 (147 AR); 2. China-A 32 (144); 3. Chinese Taipei-A 42 (141); 4. Kazakhstan-A 39 (143)
Men: 25m standard pistol: 1. Yao Zhaonan (Chn)578; 2. Udhayveer Sidhu (Ind) 577; 3. Han Daeyoon (Kor) 572. 
Team: 1. India 1710; 2. China 1709; 3. Korea 1705.
50m rifle prone: 1. Konstantin Malinovskiy (Kaz) 625.1; 2. Lliu Gang (Chn) 623.8; 3. Lli Xinmiao (Chn) 623.6 
Team: 1. China 1868.9; 2. India 1865.1; 3. Korea 1860.5.
Women: 25m sports pistol: 1. Naphaswan Yangpaiboon (Tha) 36 (590); 2. Gundegmaa Otryad (Mgl) 33 (587); 3. Zhang Jingjing (Chn) 28 (585) 
Team: 1. Korea 1751; 2. China 1751; 3. Thailand 1748; 5. India 1735.
50m rifle prone: 1. Wan Xiangyan (Chn) 627.2; 2. Lee Eunseo (Kor) 625.1; 3. Nur Suryani Mohamed Taibi (Mas) 
Team: 1. India 1864.8; 2. China 1862.4; 3. Korea 1855.5.
Junior men: 25m standard pistol: 1. Nikita Chiryukin (Kaz) 568; 2. Lee Gunhyeok (Kor) 567; 3. Harsh Gupta (Ind) 565 
Team: 1. Korea 1690; 2. India 1680; 3. China 1663.
Junior men: 10m air rifle: 1. Rudrankksh Patil (Ind) 249.0 (620.7); 2. Srijay Ranjanbabu (Ind) 248.8 (624.7); 3. Liu Xiyang (Chn) 225.7 (621.1) 
Team: 1. India 1871.0; 2. China 1858.0; 3. Thailand 1806.6.
10m air pistol: 1. Naveen 241.2 (Ind) (578); 2. Kim Junhyun (Kor) 238.2 (572); 3. Yang Shuqiang (Chn) 220.1 (564) 
Team: 1. India 1710; 2. Thailand 1691; 3. China 1685.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*