Kroos and Ter Stegen out of German squad
May 22 2019 11:13 PM
file picture
In this March 22, 2018, picture, goalkeeper Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (right) and midfielder Toni Kroos attend a press conference on the eve of an international friendly. (AFP)


A strong second half to the season was not enough to earn World Cup winner Mario Goetze his place back in the Germany squad for coming Euro 2020 qualifiers, coach Joachim Loew revealed yesterday.
Dortmund forward Goetze missed out on the squad for the matches away to Belarus and at home to Estonia next month. Barcelona goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Real Madrid midfielder Toni Kroos also miss out with injuries. 
Bayern Munich captain Manuel Neuer is included despite missing the last six weeks with a calf strain while keeper Bernd Leno, midfielder Julian Draxler and defender Jonas Hector were all recalled.
Loew will gather his squad from June 2 for a training camp in the Netherlands before heading to Minsk for the opening contest six days later. Mainz then hosts the Estonia game on June 11.
After starting Group C with a 3-2 win over the Netherlands, Loew has demanded six points from the minnows in the coming matches which will not signal the end of the season for two his squad.
Defensive duo Jonathan Tah and Lukas Klostermann will then join up with the under-21 squad for their age group European Championships in San Marino, June 16-30. Germany are defending the title won two years ago in Poland.
“We’re happy that we can count on Jona and Lukas for the Euros,” U21 coach Stefan Kuntz said. “They are both captains and absolute leaders on and off the pitch.”
In contrast Paris Saint-German defender Thilo Kehrer, Bayer Leverkusen duo Julian Brandt and Kai Havertz, Manchester City’s treble winning Leroy Sane and RB Leipzig’s Timo Werner will not join the U21s even though they would have been eligible to play.

SQUAD: Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Bernd Leno (Arsenal), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)
Defenders: Matthias Ginter (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig), Thilo Kehrer (Paris Saint-Germain), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Nico Schulz (Borussia Dortmund), Niklas Stark (Hertha Berlin), Niklas Suele (Bayern Munich), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)
Midfielders/Forwards: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain), Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich), Ilkay Guendogan (Manchester City), Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*