AJS Wathanan dominant in feature win
April 18 2019 01:11 AM
Qatar Racing
Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club Racing manager Abdulla Rashid al-Kubaisi (fourth from right) with the winners of Al Wakra Cup after AJS Wathanan won the 1900m race at Al Rayyan Park yesterday. PICTURES: Juhaim

By Sports Reporter/Doha

AJS Wathanan made his preference for the course and distance clear when Jassim Mohamed Ghazali’s ward registered his third victory over 1900m at the Al Rayyan Park dirt track in the Al Wakra Cup, yesterday’s feature race.
In the process, the Al Ghazali Stud gelding completed a treble for the champion trainer, who looks set to take his sixth consecutive trainers’ championship when the Qatari racing season comes to a close next week.
In the Local Purebred Arabian Handicap, the seven-year-old raced to a dominant win over Hassan al-Matwi’s Nomas Al Shajaa with a little over six lengths to spare.
AJS Wathanan was the second winner on the day guided by Anas al-Seyabi, who had guided Osama Omer al-Dafea’s Hitchslap to her first career win in the card-opening maiden race.
Jockey Al Moatasem al-Balushi registered two straight victories, one each with Ghazali and his son, Mohamed.
First up, it was Injaaz Stud filly Al Huwailah, who raced to her second straight victory in as many weeks, stepping up in distance from a six-furlong sprint to a 1700m Local Thoroughbred Handicap in style. Mohamed’s ward picked up a comfortable win, going past the post a little more than two lengths ahead of Tareq Essa Abdulla-trained Musaiter Bu Thaila.
In the Arabian Handicap sprint, al-Balushi guided Al Ghazali Stud’s Lekhraib to an impressive victory, winning the six-furlong run by a little more than four lengths.
For the second straight week, Qatari apprentice rider Ali Khalid al-Mosallam rode a winner, taking his season victory tally to four, his best ever so far. In a Thoroughbred Handicap sprints for Qatari riders only, he helmed Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari’s Lo De Nalane, saddled by Ghazali, to a comfortable victory.
The famous colours of Umm Qarn locked the top two spots in the Purebred Arabian Plate event for four-year-olds, with Alban de Mieulle’s wards shining in the 1700m race yesterday.
In the penultimate race of the day, Garraffah, an impressive maiden winner last month, was back with Ronan Thomas in the saddle, and the two did well to make it two in two yesterday. The colt beat stablemate Badda, also looking for a double and ridden by Mathieu Pelletan, by a length.
The win was De Mieulle’s second on the day.
Umm Qarn’s Husam, trained by Alban de Mieulle, made good use of a weight advantage to register his first victory in Qatar, topping the graduation race for Arabians.
In the other Thoroughbred Handicap, Al Jasra Stud’s Nautical Mile avenged his close defeat last week, by beating Ghazali’s ward, Noble Ancestry, by a little less than two lengths. The Tareq Essa Abdulla trained gelding registered his first career victory.
Race 1: 1. Hitchslap (Anas al-Seyabi), 2. Show Of Strength (Ivan Rossi), 3. Leafy Moss (Jean Baptiste Hamel), 4. Mixi Charm (Ronan Thomas). Won by: Nk, ½, 1 ¼. Time: 1:12.19. Owner: Osama Omer al-Dafea. Trainer: Osama Omer al-Dafea.
Race 2: 1. Lo De Nalane (Ali Khalid al-Mosallam), 2. Bint Saffian (Meteb Ali al-Marri), 3. China Club (Abdulla Mubarak al-Maadeed), 4. Rock Bottom (Yousef al-Hajri). Won by: 2 ½, 2 ½, 2 ¾. Time: 1:12.23. Owner: Khalifa bin Sheail al-Kuwari. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 3: 1. Nautical Mile (Ivan Rossi), 2. Noble Ancestry (Alexis Pouchin), 3. Dheban (Mathieu Pelletan), 4. Palmetto Dunes (Damien Morin). Won by: 1 ¾, ¾, Hd. Time: 2:02.73. Owner: Al Jasra Stud. Trainer: Tareq Essa Abdulla.
Race 4: 1. Husam (Ronan Thomas), 2. Jabal Aramoon (Anas al-Seyabi), 3. Bsheer (Faleh Bughanaim), 4. Baker De Saularie (Yousef al-Hajri). Won by: No, 4 ¾, Nk. Time: 1:58.53. Owner: Umm Qarn. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 5: 1. Al Huwailah (Al Moatasem al-Balushi), 2. Musaiter Bu Thaila (Ivan Rossi), 3. Admiral (Tomas Lukasek), 4. Attaf (Mathieu Pelletan). Won by: 2 ¼, ¼, 1 ¼. Time: 1:51.80. Owner: Injaaz Stud. Trainer: Mohamed Jassim Ghazali.
Race 6: 1. Lekhraib (Al Moatasem al-Balushi), 2. Stam Al Naif (Adnan Hawa), 3. Fazan (Ronan Thomas), 4. Muzn (Damien Morin). Won by: 4 ¼, 2 ½, 3 ¼. Time: 1:18.92. Owner: Al Ghazali Stud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 7: 1. Garraffah (Ronan Thomas), 2. Badda (Mathieu Pelletan), 3. Tahar (Damien Morin), 4. Enjazaat (Tadgh O’Shea). Won by: 1, 5 ¾, 2 ½. Time: 1:59.56. Owner: Umm Qarn. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 8: 1. AJS Wathanan (Anas al-Seyabi), 2. Nomas Al Shajaa (Alexis Pouchin), 3. AJS Al Moheeb (Al Moatasem al-Balushi), 4. AJS Al Maha (Tadgh O’Shea). Won by: 6 1/4, 4 3/4, 1/2. Time: 2:11.86. Owner: Al Ghazali Stud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*