Jadeja, Rohit power India to victory
September 22 2018 12:28 AM
Ravindra Jadeja celebrates after he dismissed Bangladesh batsman Mohamed Mithun (not in picture) as Mushfiqur Rahim (L) looks on during their Asia Cup match in Dubai yesterday.

AFP /Dubai

Spinner Ravindra Jadeja took four wickets and skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a successive half century to help India rout Bangladesh by seven wickets in Asia Cup match in Dubai yesterday. Jadeja finished with four for 29 to help dismiss Bangladesh for 173 in 49.1 overs at the Dubai International Stadium.
Sharma then launched another assault on the bowlers during his 104-ball unbeaten knock which was studded with three sixes and five boundaries as India chased down the target in 36.2 overs.
Sharma put on 61 for the opening stand with Shikhar Dhawan (47-ball 40 with a six and four boundaries) before easing towards the target with another 64-run stand for the third with Mahendra Singh Dhoni who made 33.
It was another comfortable victory for the title holders who eased through their big match against Pakistan by eight wickets on Wednesday.
The arch-rivals meet again in the Super Four match in Dubai on Sunday. Jadeja, playing his first one-day international for over a year, was at his best after India sent Bangladesh into bat on a flat pitch.  He only came into the squad as a replacement for all-rounder Hardik Pandya who was ruled out of the tournament with a back injury.
Pacemen Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3-32) and Jasprit Bumrah (3-37) were also ruthless as Bangladeshi batting couldn’t get going with tail-ender Mehidy Hasan top-scoring with a 50-ball 42 with two sixes and two boundaries. 
Bangladesh, who were bowled out for a mere 119 against Afghanistan on Thursday, were once again off to a disastrous start during which they lost half the side for just 65 runs.
Mushfiqur Rahman, who scored a brilliant hundred against Sri Lanka, managed 21 while star batsman Shakib Al Hasan failed yet again with 17.
It could have been worse had Mehidy not put on a fighting 66-run partnership for the eighth wicket with Mashrafe Mortaza who made 26 with two sixes.
Top two teams from the Super Four will play the final in Dubai on September 28.


Liton Das c Jadhav b Kumar 7

Nazmul Hossain c Dhawan b Bumrah 7
Shakib Al Hasan c Dhawan b Jadeja 17
Mushfiqur Rahim c Chahal b Jadeja 21
Mohamed Mithun lbw b Jadeja 9
Mahmudullah Riyad lbw b Kumar 25
Mosaddek Hossain c Dhoni b Jadeja 12
Mashrafe Mortaza c Bumrah b Kumar 26
Mehidy Hasan c Dhawan b Bumrah 42
Mustafizur Rahman c Dhawan b Bumrah 3
Rubel Hossain not out 1
Extras: (b1, nb1, w1) 3
Total: (all out; 49.1 overs) 173 
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Das), 2-16 (Nazmul), 3-42 (Shakib), 4-60 (Mithun), 5-65 (Rahim), 6-101 (Mahmudullah), 7-101 (Mosaddek), 8-167 (Mortaza), 9-169 (Hasan)
Bowling: Kumar 10-1-32-3(1w) Bumrah 9.1-1-37-3, Chahal 10-0-40-0, Jadeja 10-0-29-4 (1nb), Yadav 10-0-34-0


R. Sharma not out 83

S. Dhawan lbw b Shakib 40
A. Rayudu c Rahim b Rubel 13
M. Dhoni c Mithun b Mortaza 33
D. Karthik not out 1
Extras: (lb1, nb2, w1) 4
Total: (for three wkts; 36.2 overs) 174
Did not bat: K. Jadhav, R. Jadeja, B. Kumar, K. Yadav, Y. Chahal, J. Bumrah
Fall of wickets:: 1-61 (Dhawan), 2-106 (Rayudu), 3-170 (Dhoni)
Bowling: Mortaza 5-0-30-1 (1nb, 1w), Mehidy 10-0-38-0, Rahman 7-0-40-0 (1w), Shakib 9.2-0-44-1, Rubel 5-0-21-1
 Result: India win by seven wickets

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*