Qatari clubs face tough competition in Champions League
December 07 2017 12:50 AM
Al Rayyan will have a tough task at their hands, having been drawn with Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal and Iran Esteghlal in Group D for the AFC Champions League.

Agencies Kuala Lumpur

Qatar champions Al Duhail will have UAE’s Al Wahda and Uzbekistan’s Lokomotiv Tashkent besides a play-off winner for company in the group stages of the AFC Champions League after the draw was held in the Malaysian capital of Kuala Lumpur yesterday.
Djamel Belmadi’s team, along with Al Sadd and Al Rayyan have direct spots into the group stages while Al Gharafa will have to face Uzbekistan’s Pakhtakor for a spot in Group A.
If Gharafa does go through, they have UAE’s Al Jazira, Saudi Arabia’s Al Ahli and Iran’s Tractorsazi Tabriz for company in Group A.
Al Rayyan is expected to have a tough task at their hands, having been drawn with Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal, Iran Esteghlal and the playoff winner between Al Ain of the UAE and Bahrain’s Malkiya.
Al Sadd are in Group C where they take on Iran’s Persepolis, UAE’s Al Wasl and a team from playoffs.
Chinese FA Cup winners Shanghai Shenhua face a tough test after being drawn against top Japanese club Kashima Antlers and Australian A-League leaders Sydney FC.
The Chinese side unexpectedly beat expensively assembled rivals Shanghai SIPG in last month’s FA Cup final, without Argentine forward Carlos Tevez whose future in China is in doubt after a poor run of form.
But they have a fight on their hands in the group stage of Asia’s premier club competition against Antlers, finalists in the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup and Sydney.
Two-time winners and Chinese Super League champions Guangzhou Evergrande will face South Korea’s Jeju United, Thailand’s Buriram United and the winner of Japan’s Emperor’s Cup, following the draw in the Malaysian capital Kuala Lumpur.
2017 AFC Champions League winners Urawa Red Diamonds of Japan are not competing after failing to qualify.
Meanwhile 2016 champions Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors of South Korea are set to return to the tournament after being barred last year due to a bribery scandal.
The group stage runs from February to April with the West and East Asian teams kept apart until the final in November.

Group A: Al Jazira (UAE), Al Ahli (KSA), Tractorsazi Tabriz (IRI), Winner of Playoff 3
Group B: Al Duhail SC (QAT), Al Wahda (UAE), PFC Lokomotiv (UZB), Winner of Playoff 2
Group C: Persepolis FC (IRI), Al Sadd SC (QAT), Al Wasl (UAE), Winner of Playoff 4
Group D: Al Hilal SFC (KSA), Esteghlal FC (IRI), Al Rayyan SC (QAT), Winner of Playoff 1
Group E: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors FC (KOR), Kitchee SC (HKG), Winner of Play-off 4, Winner of Play-off 2
Group F: Kawasaki Frontale (JPN), Ulsan Hyundai FC (KOR), Melbourne Victory (AUS), Winner of Playoff 3
Group G: Guangzhou Evergrande FC (CHN), Japan 2nd Club, Jeju United FC (KOR), Buriram United (THA)
Group H: Sydney FC (AUS), Shanghai Shenhua FC (CHN), Kashima Antlers (JPN), Winner of Playoff 1

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*