Gaviria wins again to continue stunning Giro d’Italia debut
May 19 2017 10:30 PM
Colombian Fernando Gaviria, of the Quick Step team, celebrates as he crosses the finish line to win the 13th stage of the 100th Giro d’Italia cycling race in Tortona, Italy. (AFP)

Reuters/Tortona, Italy

Colombia’s Fernando Gaviria continued to take the Giro d’Italia by storm when he timed his sprint to perfection to win the 13th stage yesterday, taking his tally to four victories in the race. The Quick Step-Floors rider came from nowhere at the end of the 167km stage from Reggio Emilia to Tortona to blast through a gap and cross the line first.
Gaviria, making his Grand Tour debut, also won the third, fifth and 12th stages and leads the points classification. He became the first Colombian to win four stages at the same Giro. Dutchman Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) retained the overall leader’s pink jersey after arriving safely in the peloton.
Results from the 13th stage
1. Fernando Gaviria (COL/QST) 3hr 47min 45sec, 2. Sam Bennett (IRL/BOR) same time, 3. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) s.t., 4. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/UAE) s.t., 5. Ryan Gibbons (RSA/DDD) s.t., 6. Rudiger Selig (GER/BOR) s.t., 7. Sacha Modolo (ITA/UAE) s.t., 8. Caleb Ewan (AUS/ORI) s.t., 9 Andre Greipel (GER/LOT) s.t., 10. Viacheslav Kuznetsov (RUS/KAT) s.t.

Talansky wins stage five, Majka retains overall lead
American Andrew Talansky prevailed in a duel with overall leader Rafal Majka to claim the fifth stage at the Tour of California.
Facing a challenging climb up Mount Baldy, the two cyclists separated themselves in the final stretch where Talansky moved in front on the final left-hand corner to earn the win for his Cannondale Drapac team. Pole Majka, riding for Bora-Hansgrohe, will take a six-second lead over Lotto NL-Jumbo’s George Bennett into Friday’s 15-mile individual time trial at Big Bear Lake. Team Sky’s Ian Boswell, who finished the stage fourth, trails Majka by 25 seconds while Talansky is fourth in the overall standings, 44 seconds off the lead.
1. Andrew Talansky (U.S./ Cannondale) 3:43:15” 2. Rafal Majka (Poland / BORA) ST 3. George Bennett (New Zealand / LottoNL) +2” 4. Ian Boswell (U.S./ Team Sky) +5” 5. Brent Bookwalter (U.S./ BMC Racing) +8” 6. Sam Oomen (Netherlands / Sunweb) +20” 7. Lachlan Morton (Australia / Dimension Data) +27” 8. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Britain / Team Sky) +40” 9. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / LottoNL) 10. Sepp Kuss (U.S./ Rally) +56”

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*